RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The passing of community leader Dr. Maconda Brown
- 2 O'Connor of Houston on May 19, 2012, brought a profound loss to her
- 3 family, her wide circle of friends, and countless Texans whose
- 4 lives she touched; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of the Bayou City, the former Maconda Brown
- 6 was born on May 4, 1930, to George and Alice Brown; she attended
- 7 Pine Manor College, and after raising her four children, she
- 8 returned to school at the age of 51; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Dr. O'Connor graduated from the University of St.
- 10 Thomas and went on to earn a master's degree from Smith College,
- 11 where she continued her studies and completed her doctorate in
- 12 1998, at the age of 68; determined to make a positive difference,
- 13 she pursued a career in social work; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. O'Connor believed that all children deserve
- 15 second chances, and, in an effort to reach those most in need, she
- 16 set up office in a broom closet in one of Houston's toughest
- 17 juvenile facilities; a licensed advanced clinical practitioner,
- 18 she also maintained a small private practice to offer therapeutic
- 19 services to underprivileged families; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Outside of her profession, Dr. O'Connor helped
- 21 countless area young people as cofounder of Children at Risk, the
- 22 Houston A+ Challenge, and the Greater Houston Collaborative for
- 23 Children, which provided early education to nearly 84,000
- 24 participants; she further gave back through her contributions to

- 1 Harris County Protective Services, El Hogar de Ninos, the Child
- 2 Abuse Prevention Network, the Mental Health Association of Houston
- 3 and Harris County, and the Harris County Juvenile Probation
- 4 Department; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Dr. O'Connor demonstrated a commitment to the
- 6 greater community as well, sharing her time as a member of the
- 7 boards of the Discovery Green Conservancy, the Brookings
- 8 Institution, the American Leadership Forum, Baylor College of
- 9 Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital, The Rice Center for Education,
- 10 the University of Houston-Downtown, and the Houston Area Women's
- 11 Center; in her work as both president and chair of one of Houston's
- 12 most active charities, the Brown Foundation, her dedication to
- 13 helping people in need was legendary; she also supported the
- 14 Democratic Party and Emily's List; and
- WHEREAS, This loving matriarch shared the richness of her
- 16 life with a family that included four children, George, Thomas,
- 17 Nancy, and John, nine grandchildren, Ryan, Kelly, Maconda, Nancy,
- 18 Andrew, Ralph, Rebecca, Ian, and Charlie, and a
- 19 great-granddaughter, Louisa O'Connor; and
- WHEREAS, Unparalleled in her advocacy and activism, Maconda
- 21 O'Connor inspired hope while showing many young Texans the path to a
- 22 brighter future, and her legacy will continue to resonate in the
- 23 lives of those she touched for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 25 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Dr. Maconda Brown
- 26 O'Connor and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family:
- 27 to her children, George O'Connor, Thomas O'Connor, Nancy

- 1 Abendshein, and John O'Connor, and their spouses, Lynn O'Connor,
- 2 Barbie O'Connor, Mark Abendshein, and Sarah O'Connor; to her nine
- 3 grandchildren, Ryan O'Connor and his wife, Amy, Kelly O'Connor,
- 4 Maconda Abinader and her husband, Sacha, Nancy O'Connor, Andrew
- 5 Abendshein, Ralph Abendshein, Rebecca O'Connor, Ian O'Connor, and
- 6 Charlie O'Connor; to her great-granddaughters, Louisa and Georgia
- 7 O'Connor; to her siblings, Nancy Brown Negley, Louisa S. Sarofim,
- 8 and Mike Stude; and to her other relatives and many friends; and, be
- 9 it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 12 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dr. Maconda
- 13 Brown O'Connor.

Farrar S. Davis of Harris

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1668
	Speaker of the House
	s unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on May 1, 2013.	
	Chief Clerk of the House