## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of North Texas at Dallas has greatly 2 benefited from the leadership of Dr. John Ellis Price, who is 3 retiring from his position as president of the institution in 2013; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Formerly an extension of the University of North 6 Texas, UNT-Dallas was established as a result of a locally 7 initiated, public-private partnership launched in 1997; when the 8 campus was authorized by the Texas Legislature in 2001, Dr. Price 9 was named its chief executive officer; and

WHEREAS, While guiding the university in its early days, 10 11 Dr. Price led the development of an award-winning master plan for 12 the 264-acre campus, including the construction of its first environmentally green, Gold LEED-certified buildings; in addition, 13 14 he headed the 21st Century Commission, a group of business, civic, and philanthropic leaders working to define the university's role 15 16 in Dallas and the North Texas region and to develop innovations and best practices to ensure that the school provides an affordable, 17 high-quality education; and 18

WHEREAS, Dr. Price became vice provost of the university in 202003, and under his direction, additional faculty and staff were 21 hired to support the growing student body; by 2009, the 22 university's enrollment had reached 1,000 full-time students, the 23 benchmark that allowed it to become officially recognized as an 24 independent general academic institution; and

1

1 WHEREAS, In 2010, Dr. Price was named the founding president 2 of UNT-Dallas, the first public, four-year university in the city, 3 and he led its inaugural commencement ceremonies on December 19, 4 2010, when 173 undergraduate and 25 graduate degrees were 5 conferred; and

6 WHEREAS, This esteemed administrator received his bachelor's 7 and master's degrees at The University of Southern Mississippi, and 8 he earned his doctorate in accounting from the University of North 9 Texas in 1981; a certified public accountant, he previously served 10 on the UNT faculty and as chair of its Department of Accounting, and 11 he is the coauthor of *College Accounting*, one of the most widely 12 used textbooks in the subject; and

WHEREAS, Highly active in professional and civic groups, 13 14 Dr. Price has chaired the Minority Initiatives Committee of the 15 American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and he is a member of the Dallas Friday Group and Uplift Education, as well as a 16 17 trustee of the Dallas Historical Society; a recipient of numerous accolades, Dr. Price has twice received the UNT Outstanding 18 19 Teaching Award, as well as the university's President's Council Award; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Dr. John Ellis Price has rendered outstanding 22 service to UNT-Dallas, and his tireless efforts to build on the 23 university's record of excellence have greatly benefited its 24 students and the entire community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby honor Dr. John Ellis Price on the occasion of his retirement from the University of North Texas at Dallas and

2

H.R. No. 1685

extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Dr. Price as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Giddings

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1685 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House