H.R. No. 1687

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2013 marks the 20th anniversary of the
Young Women's Alliance; and

3 WHEREAS, Established in Austin in 1993, the organization was founded by some 20 young professional women who gathered regularly 4 5 to network and exchange ideas and information concerning their business endeavors; the group grew, and in 1995, members wrote 6 7 bylaws, incorporated as a nonprofit corporation under the name Win2, and formed a board of directors and an advisory council; the 8 following year, the board officially changed the name of the 9 organization to the Young Women's Alliance; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Today, the YWA is composed of more than 200 women 12 from different industries and diverse backgrounds, ranging in age 13 from early 20s to late 30s; the alliance provides its members a wide 14 range of educational programs, as well as professional development 15 and leadership opportunities; and

16 WHEREAS, For two decades, this outstanding organization has 17 supported many young women in their quest to achieve their full 18 potential, and it is indeed a privilege to recognize the alliance at 19 this special point in its history; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 21 Legislature hereby commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Young 22 Women's Alliance and extend to its members sincere best wishes for 23 continued success; and, be it further

24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 1687 1 prepared for the alliance as an expression of high regard by the 2 Texas House of Representatives.

> Howard Dukes

H.R. No. 1687

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1687

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1687 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House