H.R. No. 1699

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Teen pregnancy is a serious and costly issue in the 2 state and nation, forever changing the lives of the young women and 3 men who experience this unplanned event; and

WHEREAS, Adolescent childbearing is linked to a host of 4 5 public health and social challenges; girls facing unplanned pregnancy are less likely to access prenatal care, and as a 6 consequence are at an increased risk of delivering premature 7 infants and infants with low birth weight; teen mothers are also 8 more likely to drop out of high school and to experience poverty, 9 and their children more often suffer from economic, medical, and 10 11 behavioral problems compared to children of older parents; and

12 WHEREAS, On May 1, 2013, hundreds of thousands of teens 13 throughout the country are participating in the National Day to 14 Prevent Teen Pregnancy, a collaborative effort between the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy and numerous 15 educators, health sector leaders, elected officials, faith-based 16 groups, and other prominent organizations; the National Day has 17 proven a success year after year in challenging adolescents to 18 think about the consequences of engaging in sexual relations and to 19 20 make positive choices about their futures; and

21 WHEREAS, Although the teen birth rate has been declining in 22 recent years, Texas still has one of the highest teen pregnancy 23 rates in the nation, with a cost to taxpayers of more than \$1 24 billion a year, and the National Day to Prevent Teen Pregnancy

1

H.R. No. 1699 1 provides means of addressing this matter of critical importance; 2 now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize May 1, 2013, as the National Day to 5 Prevent Teen Pregnancy and encourage Texans to participate in 6 related events and learn more about the facts associated with 7 adolescent pregnancy.

Howard

H.R. No. 1699

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1699 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House