H.R. No. 1731

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dallas Vietnamese Radio is celebrating its 10th
anniversary in 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, Serving Vietnamese residents within a 100-mile 4 radius of Dallas, DVR began broadcasting 24 hours a day, 7 days a 5 week, on January 6, 2003; today the station also maintains a website 6 and an uplink to a satellite channel, allowing it to reach countless 7 other listeners around the world; and

WHEREAS, The station carries a wide variety of programming in 8 cooperation with Little Saigon Radio-TV, a network of 30 Vietnamese 9 Public Radio stations in California and Houston; in addition to 10 news, current affairs, and live election coverage, DVR offers talk 11 12 shows that address such issues as law, immigration, health services, and voter registration; the station also broadcasts 13 14 English lessons and other educational content, as well as music, plays, poetry, and stories; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Committed to building a stronger Vietnamese 17 American community, DVR works to preserve traditional culture and 18 assists residents in need; the station has benefited those farther 19 afield by extending assistance to victims of natural disasters in 20 Japan, Haiti, and the New York City area; and

21 WHEREAS, For the past decade, Dallas Vietnamese Radio has 22 served as a leading source of information, entertainment, and 23 advocacy for Vietnamese Americans in the Metroplex, and its 24 contributions have greatly enriched the lives of innumerable

1

H.R. No. 1731

1 people; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Dallas Vietnamese Radio on its 10th 4 anniversary and extend to all those associated with the station 5 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the station as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 1731

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1731 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House