H.R. No. 1747

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The House District 106 Internship Program was
- 2 established to provide an opportunity for young Texans to be
- 3 involved in government and the political process, and 10 high
- 4 school students from Denton County have been selected to
- 5 participate; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Designed to prepare the next generation of leaders,
- 7 the internship initiative attracted some 100 applicants from
- 8 District 106; a selection committee of area leaders helped narrow
- 9 the pool to 28 students who were interviewed, and 10 were chosen for
- 10 the program; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The participants are Carly Boobar of Plano, Robert
- 12 Stewart of Oak Point, Marissa Morris of Pilot Point, and Courtney
- 13 Smith, Maddy Gosnell, Sarah Meeks, Nicole Bordman, Micky Willis,
- 14 Alison Gage, and Brandon Summerlin of Frisco; the interns assist
- 15 with constituent services, interact with community leaders, and
- 16 attend civic events throughout the district; moreover, they have
- 17 the opportunity to travel to Austin to see the legislative process
- 18 firsthand; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through hard work and dedication, these dynamic
- 20 young Texans are learning about the issues facing citizens of
- 21 District 106 and the Lone Star State and are gaining valuable work
- 22 experience in the field of public service; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Carly Boobar, Robert Stewart,

H.R. No. 1747

- 1 Marissa Morris, Courtney Smith, Maddy Gosnell, Sarah Meeks, Nicole
- 2 Bordman, Micky Willis, Alison Gage, and Brandon Summerlin on their
- 3 selection to participate in the House District 106 Internship
- 4 Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 7 for the interns as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 8 of Representatives.

Fallon

H.R. No. 1747

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1747 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House