RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, National Safe Boating Week is being observed from
- 2 May 18 to 24, 2013; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Recreational boating, including fishing and
- 4 waterskiing, is an immensely popular summer sport among Texans, and
- 5 waterways can quickly become crowded, resulting in confusion,
- 6 unforeseen risks, and, too often, tragedy; and
- 7 WHEREAS, According to the National Safe Boating Council, 700
- 8 people die each year in boating-related accidents in the United
- 9 States, and approximately 70 percent of these fatalities are caused
- 10 by drowning; the vast majority of accidents occur because of human
- 11 error or poor judgment and can be easily prevented; recreational
- 12 boaters should never operate a boat while under the influence of
- 13 alcohol or drugs; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Statistics have shown that about 80 percent of those
- 15 who drowned in boating mishaps were not wearing a life jacket;
- 16 although many boaters stow life jackets on board, there is rarely
- 17 enough time to properly employ one in the event of an accident; in
- 18 an effort to increase people's willingness to wear this essential
- 19 piece of safety equipment, modern life jackets have been designed
- 20 to be smaller, lighter, and more comfortable; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Boating accidents happen regardless of one's level
- 22 of experience, and wearing a life jacket is the most effective way
- 23 to prevent drowning for veteran and novice boaters alike; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 18 to 24, 2013, as National Safe
- 3 Boating Week and encourage Texans to wear life jackets at all times
- 4 while on the water.

Larson

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1754 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House