RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Those Texans who give freely of their time and 2 talents to benefit the larger community make the world a better 3 place through their actions and their example, and Barry J. Young 4 of Murphy is one such person; and

5 WHEREAS, A Dallas native, Mr. Young graduated from 6 Lewisville High School and attended Tarrant and Cooke County 7 Colleges; in 1979, he joined Dallas Power & Light Company, now TXU 8 Energy, where he currently serves as manager of mass customer 9 issues; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Young has generously contributed to a number of civic groups through the years; a member of the board of directors of the Richardson and Wylie Chambers of Commerce, he is first chair-elect of the Garland Chamber of Commerce and head of economic development and governmental affairs for the chamber in Rowlett, where he is a member of the city's Economic Development Advisory Board; and

WHEREAS, In addition to holding leadership positions with the Richardson Rotary Club, Richardson Independent School District Excellence in Education Foundation, and Methodist Richardson Medical Center, Mr. Young has given back to his fellow residents through his participation in the Richardson Citizen Fire and Citizen Police Academies; and

23 WHEREAS, Mr. Young is supported in all of his endeavors by a 24 loving family that includes his wife, Candace, his six children,

1

1 and his five grandchildren; and

2 WHEREAS, The exemplary civic engagement of Barry Young has 3 helped to make the North Dallas area an even better place in which 4 to live and work, and it is indeed a pleasure to honor him for his 5 outstanding efforts in behalf of the greater good; now, therefore, 6 be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 8 Legislature hereby honor Barry J. Young for his service to his 9 community and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 10 success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Mr. Young as an expression of high regard by the Texas 13 House of Representatives.

Carter

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1805 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House