H.R. No. 1806

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Abigail Fonseca, a sophomore at Glen Rose High
- 2 School, has excelled in competition at the 2013 Visual Arts
- 3 Scholastic Event, where her superior rating earned her a state
- 4 medal for her work; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Art Education Association,
- 6 VASE is an annual contest that recognizes exemplary student
- 7 achievement in the visual arts in 10 categories that range from
- 8 painting, photography, and graphic design to sculpture, jewelry,
- 9 ceramics, and textiles; students from across the state first
- 10 compete at the regional level, where a panel of jurors evaluates
- 11 their pieces with regard to originality of concept, technical
- 12 expertise, and other criteria; only the top 10 percent of entries
- 13 advance to the state competition; and
- WHEREAS, More than 15,000 art pieces were entered in the 2013
- 15 contest, and only 1,400 works advanced to the final level; of those,
- 16 fewer than half received a superior rating from state judges;
- 17 Abigail Fonseca secured such a score with her pencil drawing and was
- 18 honored with a state medallion in recognition of her achievement;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, A true credit to her family, school, and community,
- 21 this gifted young Texan has demonstrated outstanding skill and
- 22 discipline, and she may indeed take great pride in her
- 23 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 1806

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Abigail Fonseca on winning a state
- 2 medallion at the 2013 State Visual Arts Scholastic Event and extend
- 3 to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Fonseca as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Sheffield of Coryell

H.R. No. 1806

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari	Johnson	
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/ 3.4 4 4	

11.11. 110. 1000	H.R	. No.	1806
------------------	-----	-------	------

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1806 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House