H.R. No. 1817

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Realizing their season-long goal of being the best 2 4A basketball team in Texas, the Georgetown High School Lady Eagles 3 won the University Interscholastic League state championship with a 4 victory in the title game on March 2, 2013; and

5 WHEREAS, Playing the team from Dallas Lincoln High School in the tournament final at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin, the Lady 6 7 Eagles found themselves in a hard-fought battle; trailing by seven points with just over seven minutes remaining, the Georgetown 8 players demonstrated their undeniable will to win; they turned the 9 momentum in their favor by pressuring their opponent into mistakes 10 11 and mounted a thrilling comeback; championship game Most Valuable 12 Player Kaitlin Walla nailed a key jump shot with 1:36 to play to give the Lady Eagles a one-point lead, and clutch free-throw 13 14 shooting in the final minute sealed a 65-60 triumph; and

WHEREAS, The win gave Georgetown High its second hoops crown in school history, and the Lady Eagles have made a strong bid for the title on numerous other occasions; this was the team's ninth appearance in the trophy matchup, six of which have come under the exceptional leadership of coach Rhonda Farney; and

20 WHEREAS, Ms. Walla was joined on the All-Tournament Team by 21 Lorrie Santoy; the Lady Eagles also received valuable contributions 22 throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Hayley 23 Hunter, MacKayla Embry, Sandi Harris, Samantha Lee, Abby Saenz, 24 Aubrey Simon, Stephanie Sovereen, Remy Wassom, Haley Frias,

1

Kendrick Clark, Nicole Elliott, Amanda Johnson, Caitlyn Buttram,
Avery Kelly, Bree Smith, Hayley White, Rikki Blue, Christine
Mersiosky, Taylor LaCour, Khadijah Conway, and Maddie Anderson; and

WHEREAS, Coach Farney was aided in her efforts by assistant coaches Kellye Richardson, Kristin Curtis, and Jordan Ramey; the team also benefited from the efforts of managers Grant Anderson, Hope DeLatorre, Amanda Goode, Kamille Lyons, and Seth Sossner, athletic trainers Chad Hennessey and Vanessa Morales, student trainer Emily Baldwin-Pena, statistician Andrea Kauitzsch, and video technician Mary Lucas; and

11 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the 12 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an enduring 13 commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes have 14 become a source of great pride to their school and community; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate the Georgetown High School girls' 18 basketball team on winning the UIL 4A state championship for 2013 19 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 20 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 1817

2

H.R. No. 1817

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1817

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1817 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House