RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Susan Blackwood stepped down as executive director 2 of San Antonio Sports on December 31, 2012, after 16 years of 3 distinguished service to that organization; and WHEREAS, Under Ms. Blackwood's direction, San Antonio Sports 4 5 excelled in its mission of hosting premier events to boost the local economy and encouraging the development of amateur sports programs 6 and recreational facilities for the benefit of the community; and 7 WHEREAS, Ms. Blackwood presided over a period of remarkable 8 9 growth, during which the group attracted numerous high-profile events and increased its annual budget from \$125,000 to \$3.4 10 11 million; moreover, she played a central role in building the 12 community's strong relationship with NCAA athletics; during her 13 tenure, San Antonio was the site of the basketball Final Four on 14 five different occasions, and it became one of just six locations to be designated as an NCAA Championship City; in 2013 alone, a number 15 16 of prestigious collegiate events in basketball, fencing, and soccer have taken place or are scheduled for San Antonio; and 17 18 WHEREAS, This visionary administrator also guided the organization's efforts to use recreational activities as a means of 19 fostering increased self-esteem and improved health among the 20 21 city's young residents; San Antonio Sports has devoted 60 percent of its budget to such initiatives as establishing fitness programs, 22 23 developing quality neighborhood athletic facilities, providing

education on nutrition, and sponsoring after-school sports clubs

24

- 1 that serve nearly 200,000 youths; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Ms. Blackwood holds a doctoral degree from the
- 3 University of Nebraska and first became involved in sports as a high
- 4 school coach; before joining San Antonio Sports in 1996, she worked
- 5 as an administrator with the University Interscholastic League, as
- 6 an associate athletic director at The University of Texas, and as
- 7 the director of athletic relations for Oshman's Sporting Goods; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Since concluding her responsibilities as executive
- 9 director, Susan Blackwood has continued to serve San Antonio Sports
- 10 as its government relations director and will soon head a new
- 11 fund-raising effort for the organization; in all of her
- 12 assignments, her dedication and dynamic leadership have helped
- 13 enhance the vitality of the community, and her record of
- 14 achievement is widely appreciated by her fellow citizens; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Susan Blackwood on her
- 18 accomplishments as executive director of San Antonio Sports and
- 19 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 20 further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Ms. Blackwood as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Menendez

H.R. No. 1826

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira		
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr			
Alonzo	Gooden Otto			
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie		
Anchia	Guillen	Parker		
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick		
Ashby	Harless	Perez		
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry		
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips		
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett		
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts		
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price		
Branch	Huberty	Raney		
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff		
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond		
Button	Isaac	Reynolds		
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter		
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar		
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis		
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose		
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford		
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer		
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets		
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell		
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell		
Creighton	Krause	Simmons		
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson		
Dale	Larson	Smith		
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee		
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer		
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson		
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland		
Deshotel	_	Strama		
_	Longoria			
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor		
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria		
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris		
Elkins	Martinez	Toth		
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin		
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris		
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant		
Farrar	Miles	Villalba		
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal		
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo		
Frank	Moody	Walle		
Frullo	Morrison	White		
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman		
Giddings	Murphy	Wu		
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler		
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas		

H.K. NO. 182	H.R.	No.	1826
--------------	------	-----	------

	c . 1	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1826 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House