H.R. No. 1864

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ben McPherson, a senior at Glen Rose High School, 2 was selected as an All-State Band member in 2013, the third 3 consecutive year in which he has received this prestigious honor; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association and the Association of Texas Small School Bands, the All-State Band 6 7 program brings together talented young musicians from across Texas who have successfully competed at the regional and area levels; in 8 2013, All-State students gathered in San Antonio from February 13 9 through February 16, attending workshops, concerts, and other 10 11 events and closing with a performance at the Lila Cockrell Theatre 12 in the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center; and

13 WHEREAS, A gifted tuba player, Mr. McPherson was awarded a 14 scholarship from the ATSSB/TMEA for his achievement; in addition to 15 his musical talent, he participates in the land evaluation program 16 as a member of FFA; and

WHEREAS, One of four students from Glen Rose to be named to the All-State Band in 2013, Mr. McPherson has benefited from the guidance of Glen Rose High School band director Ray Portillo; and

20 WHEREAS, Ben McPherson's hard work and ability have placed 21 him among the state's elite high school musicians, and he may take 22 justifiable pride in this distinction; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Ben McPherson on being named to the

1

H.R. No. 1864 1 2013 All-State Band and extend to him sincere best wishes for 2 continued success; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Mr. McPherson as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Sheffield of Coryell

H.R. No. 1864

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1864

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1864 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House