RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Distinguished foreign ambassadors taking part in 2 the U.S. State Department's Experience America program are 3 visiting the State Capitol on May 14, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Capricia Marshall, chief of protocol of the United States, Experience America introduces ambassadors posted in Washington, D.C., to cities and neighborhoods across the nation, showcasing life in the United States outside the Beltway; and

9 WHEREAS, The program helps to build relationships, encourage 10 investment and trade, and foster dialogue between the ambassadors 11 and government, business, cultural, and academic leaders in the 12 communities they visit; these interactions play a vital role in 13 strengthening the bonds between the United States and other 14 countries and encourage, in President Barack Obama's words, "new 15 beginnings based on mutual respect and understanding"; and

16 WHEREAS, Since the inception of Experience America four years ago, members of the diplomatic corps have traveled to Alaska, 17 Atlanta, Arkansas, Chicago, New Orleans, Los Angeles, and Wyoming; 18 these trips have yielded tangible results benefiting the United 19 States and countries abroad, including the development by Delta 20 21 Airlines of a direct flight from Atlanta to South Africa, the signing of a memorandum of cooperation between a Lithuanian 22 23 business delegation and the Port of New Orleans, and the visit of an Iraqi delegation to Chicago to discuss trade opportunities; and 24

1

1 WHEREAS, By sharing America's richly diverse cultures and 2 communities, Experience America provides the chiefs of diplomatic 3 missions a deeper understanding of our country's values, 4 traditions, and history, and it is hoped that as a result of this 5 program, the links between this state and the nations represented 6 here today will multiply and flourish in the years ahead; now, 7 therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 9 Legislature hereby welcome these distinguished ambassadors to the 10 State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes for a most 11 rewarding and enjoyable visit; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 13 for the ambassadors as an expression of high regard by the Texas 14 House of Representatives.

Strama

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1872 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House