## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A pioneering physician, Dr. Ruben Amarasingham has
 made extraordinary contributions to health care through his work as
 head of the Parkland Center for Clinical Innovation in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Amarasingham joined Parkland Hospital in 2002 as 4 5 an attending physician in the Community Oriented Primary Care System, where he served as medical director and associate chief of 6 7 medicine for Medicine Services; in 2008, he founded and directed the hospital's Center for Clinical Innovation, which led to the 8 launch of the Parkland Center for Clinical Innovation, a nonprofit 9 research and development corporation that he oversees as president 10 11 and chief executive officer; and

WHEREAS, At PCCI, clinicians work to predict patients' risks 12 in developing health problems; PIECES, a groundbreaking software 13 14 system coinvented by Dr. Amarasingham, enables the center's staff to analyze electronic health records and use predictive models to 15 16 anticipate adverse effects; the software assists physicians, nurses, and administrators in making complex decisions by flagging 17 patients susceptible to conditions such as diabetes, pneumonia, 18 heart attack, and sepsis; and 19

20 WHEREAS, With financial support from the Commonwealth Fund, 21 the National Institutes of Health, and the Gordon and Betty Moore 22 Foundation, among other sources, PCCI is developing one of the 23 nation's first information exchanges for physicians, case 24 managers, and social service organizations; this electronic

1

1 platform enables health care providers to better understand how 2 their patients' social conditions may affect their health, which is 3 particularly vital for underserved patients who often move back and 4 forth between hospitals, clinics, and community health 5 organizations; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Amarasingham's efforts to re-engineer patient 6 7 flow in the Parkland Emergency Department, the 14th busiest in the 8 U.S., have led to significant reductions in time-to-admission orders; furthermore, by using his risk prediction model, Dr. 9 10 Amarasingham cut 30-day readmissions for Medicare patients with heart failure by 31 percent; the subject of a comprehensive review 11 12 by the Journal of the American Medical Association, Dr. Amarasingham's model was found to be one of the most successful of 13 14 more than 7,000 systems in identifying patients at high risk for 15 readmission; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas Southwestern 16 17 Medical Center, Dr. Amarasingham completed a postdoctoral fellowship and a master's degree in business administration at 18 19 Johns Hopkins University; the recipient of numerous awards, he was designated a Health Care Hero of Dallas by the Dallas Business 20 Journal, and UT Southwestern named him a Bryan Williams Scholar for 21 Academic Excellence; in 2012, Dr. Amarasingham was one of 10 health 22 23 care professionals chosen from a pool of 850 candidates to receive 24 the inaugural Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Young Leader Award; 25 and

26 WHEREAS, Dr. Ruben Amarasingham has advanced the use of 27 health information technology as a vital tool for improving the

2

1 quality and efficiency of medical care, and he is indeed deserving 2 of recognition for his impressive record of service; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby honor Dr. Ruben Amarasingham for his
professional achievements and extend to him sincere best wishes for
continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Dr. Amarasingham as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose

H.R. No. 1879

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1879 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House