H.R. No. 1892

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jared Thames of Glen Rose High School claimed his
- 2 second consecutive state championship at the Texas High School
- 3 Powerlifting Association Division 2 State Meet on March 23, 2013,
- 4 in Abilene; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A senior competing in the 275-pound weight class,
- 6 Mr. Thames recorded a squat lift of 700 pounds, a bench press of
- 7 440, and a dead lift of 620; his total of 1,760 pounds surpassed his
- 8 2012 title-winning tally of 1,700 and bested the second-place
- 9 finisher by 50 pounds; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Guided by coach Terry Harlin, Mr. Thames has spent
- 11 long hours in the weight room striving to perfect his technique; he
- 12 is the first powerlifting champion from Glen Rose High as well as
- 13 the first competitor in school history to win back-to-back state
- 14 crowns in any sport; he will continue his athletic career at the
- 15 collegiate level as a member of the football team at Tarleton State
- 16 University; and
- 17 WHEREAS, With his dedication and unwavering commitment to
- 18 excellence, Jared Thames is a source of great pride to his school
- 19 and his community, and he will forever treasure the memory of his
- 20 remarkable accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Jared Thames on winning the 2013
- 23 THSPA Division 2 state championship in the 275-pound weight class
- 24 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be

H.R. No. 1892

- 1 it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- $3\,\,$ prepared for Mr. Thames as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Sheffield of Coryell

H.R. No. 1892

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Η.	.R.	No.	1892

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1892 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House