## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, May 2013 has been designated as Brain Tumor 2 Awareness Month, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and its 3 president, Dr. Ronald A. DePinho, as well as Doctors Charles A. 4 5 Conrad, Jeffrey S. Weinberg, and Susan McGovern, whose skill and dedication have immeasurably aided countless people in the fight 6 7 against cancer; and WHEREAS, Founded in 1941 as part of The University of Texas 8 System, the MD Anderson Center is one of the world's most respected 9 institutions devoted exclusively to cancer research, education, 10 11 prevention, and patient care; in 2012, the center was ranked as the 12 nation's best hospital for cancer care in U.S. News & World Report's "Best Hospitals" survey, and it has been rated in the top 13 14 two every year since the survey's inception in 1990; and WHEREAS, Dr. Ronald DePinho, an internationally recognized 15 former professor of medicine and genetics at Harvard Medical 16 School, became president of MD Anderson in 2011, having served as 17 the founding director of the Belfer Institute for Applied Cancer 18 Science at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; he graduated as the 19 salutatorian of his class at Fordham University and earned his 20 21 medical degree with distinction in microbiology and immunology from 22 the Albert Einstein College of Medicine; today, he focuses his 23 research program on the molecular underpinnings of cancer, aging,

24

and degenerative disorders; and

Association for Cancer Research, Dr. DePinho has served on a number 2 3 of advisory boards in the public and private sectors and co-chaired advisory boards for the Cancer Genome Atlas project and the 4 5 National Cancer Institute Mouse Models of Human Cancers Consortium; his myriad accolades include the March of Dimes Basil O'Connor 6 Starter Scholar Research Award and the James S. McDonnell Scholar 7 8 Award, and he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2010; and 9 10 WHEREAS, Dr. Charles Conrad, a graduate of The University of Texas Medical School at Houston, joined the staff of MD Anderson in 11 12 1992 as a clinical fellow in neuro-oncology; he became director of 13 clinical operations in the Department of Neuro-Oncology in 2009, 14 and he also serves in the Department of Experimental Therapeutics; 15 the author of nearly 70 peer-reviewed publications, he divides his time between active patient care and laboratory investigations and 16 17 has participated in numerous clinical trials; his many honors include the Waun Ki Hong Award for Excellence in Team Science; and 18 19 WHEREAS, Dr. Jeffrey Weinberg is director of training in the Department of Neurosurgery; he is also the director of Brainsuite, 20 an intraoperative MRI research group, and he is known for his 21 particular expertise in primary and metastatic brain tumors, 22 23 stereotactic radiosurgery, spinal cord tumors, intraoperative 24 delivery of anticancer agents, and pediatric brain tumors; moreover, he is rotation program director for the neurosurgical 25 26 residency programs at Baylor College of Medicine and The University

WHEREAS, A former member of the board of the American

1

27

of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; he has received the

- 1 Achievement Award in Science from the International Biographical
- 2 Centre in Cambridge, England, among a host of accolades, and he has
- 3 published more than 50 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals, as
- 4 well as 8 book chapters; before moving to Houston, he was chief
- 5 neurosurgery resident for New York University Langone Medical
- 6 Center, Bellevue Hospital, and Veterans Affairs Hospitals in New
- 7 York City; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Dr. Susan McGovern is an assistant professor in the
- 9 Department of Radiation Oncology in the CNS/Pediatrics section;
- 10 currently, she focuses on pediatric radiation oncology, and she is
- 11 especially engaged in developing dose-volume constraints for
- 12 re-irradiation of pediatric brain tumors; a graduate of the
- 13 University of Notre Dame, she earned both her medical degree and a
- 14 doctorate through the Northwestern University Medical Scientist
- 15 Training Program; she went on to complete a transitional internship
- 16 and residency in radiation oncology at MD Anderson, followed by a
- 17 postdoctoral fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine; and
- 18 WHEREAS, During Brain Tumor Awareness Month, we celebrate the
- 19 accomplishments of those who work tirelessly to advance scientific
- 20 knowledge and deliver the highest quality of medical care to cancer
- 21 patients, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center has improved the lives
- 22 of hundreds of thousands of people through the efforts of such
- 23 distinguished professionals as Dr. DePinho, Dr. Conrad, Dr.
- 24 Weinberg, and Dr. McGovern; now, therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 26 Legislature hereby recognize May 2013 as Brain Tumor Awareness
- 27 Month and honor Dr. Ronald A. DePinho, Dr. Charles A. Conrad, Dr.

- 1 Jeffrey S. Weinberg, Dr. Susan McGovern, and the entire staff of The
- 2 University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center for their exceptional
- 3 work to treat and prevent brain cancer.

Zerwas Button King of Taylor

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Tarker King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier		
	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1894
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1894 was 2013, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on May 10,
	Chief Clerk of the House