H.R. No. 1900

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The 100th birthday of an esteemed Texan is truly
- 2 reason to celebrate, and Magdalen Wiatrek of Kenedy marked that
- 3 special milestone on April 8, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Magdalen Wiatrek was born in 1913 to John and
- 5 Pauline Lyssy in Falls City, and she attended school there; she
- 6 married Louis Wiatrek at Holy Trinity Catholic Church on February
- 7 12, 1935, and the couple became the parents of seven children,
- 8 Alvin, Chester, Gilbert, Pete, Mary Rose, Casper, and Eugenia; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A devoted mother and homemaker, Mrs. Wiatrek spent
- 10 most of her life on the couple's farm in southern Wilson County; she
- 11 continued to work the land after Mr. Wiatrek's untimely death in
- 12 1952; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to her other responsibilities,
- 14 Mrs. Wiatrek enjoyed sewing, tending her garden, and canning fruits
- 15 and vegetables; she was a volunteer at the annual Falls City Picnic
- 16 until her 84th birthday and a valued and active member of Holy
- 17 Trinity Catholic Church for many years; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Today Mrs. Wiatrek takes great pride in a family
- 19 that has grown to include 15 grandchildren, 20 great-grandchildren,
- 20 and 2 great-great-grandchildren; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Over the course of the past century, Magdalen
- 22 Wiatrek has brought joy into the lives of all those fortunate enough
- 23 to share in her love and friendship, and it is a pleasure to join in
- 24 honoring her for 100 years of life well lived; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1900

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Magdalen Wiatrek on her 100th
- 3 birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Wiatrek as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Cortez

H.R. No. 1900

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1900 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House