H.R. No. 1902

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The reigning Miss Texas, DaNae Couch, is visiting
- 2 the State Capitol on May 7, 2013, and this occasion provides a
- 3 welcome opportunity to recognize this gifted and dedicated young
- 4 woman; and
- 5 WHEREAS, DaNae Couch was named Miss Texas following her
- 6 superior performances in the fitness, interview, and talent
- 7 portions of the pageant competition in July 2012, and she went on to
- 8 finish among the top 10 at the Miss America contest in January 2013;
- 9 in the months since she earned her crown, she has devoted numerous
- 10 hours to community service projects and to promoting her platform,
- 11 "Hope for Family Recovery: Life Beyond Addiction"; her goal is to
- 12 educate the public on the signs of alcoholism and addiction, and she
- 13 has also spoken about the dangers of binge drinking; and
- 14 WHEREAS, A native of Coppell, Ms. Couch graduated from the
- 15 Baylor University Honors College in 2010 with a bachelor's degree
- 16 in English and a minor in public relations; a skilled baton twirler,
- 17 she was a featured performer in the Baylor Golden Wave Marching
- 18 Band, has won national twirling titles, and has appeared in two
- 19 Disney parades and at other high-profile events; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Ms. Couch is currently a student at the Texas Tech
- 21 University School of Law; active in the mock trial program, she won
- 22 first-year and advanced mock trial competitions and earned the
- 23 title of Best Advocate; and
- 24 WHEREAS, An inspiring role model and an individual of

H.R. No. 1902

- 1 exceptional ability, DaNae Couch has distinguished herself in her
- 2 duties as an ambassador for the Lone Star State, and she is a source
- 3 of pride to her fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor DaNae Couch, Miss Texas 2012, for her many
- 6 accomplishments and for her service to others and extend to her
- 7 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Ms. Couch as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Miles

H.R. No. 1902

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1902
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1902 2013, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 7,
	Chief Clerk of the House