RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud community members are gathering in Austin on 2 May 8, 2013, to celebrate Lancaster Independent School District Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Situated in southwest Dallas County, Lancaster ISD 4 5 serves more than 6,000 students in seven elementary schools, one middle school, and one high school, as well as an alternative 6 7 learning center and a sixth-grade learning center that focuses on instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math; and 8 9 WHEREAS, Dr. Michael D. McFarland, who became superintendent of the district in May 2010, ably guides a staff of accomplished 10 11 administrators, teachers, and support personnel, all of whom are 12 committed to providing an outstanding education to area young people; in recent years, Lancaster ISD has made remarkable progress 13 14 in closing achievement gaps, with pronounced improvements in such areas as test performance and college and career readiness; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Based on data from 2011, the Texas Education Agency awarded the district 20 Gold Performance Acknowledgements, the most 17 in the district's history, and assigned the "recognized" rating to 18 six campuses, marking another district record; the following year, 19 20 Lancaster ISD achieved membership in the Texas High Performing 21 School Consortium, becoming one of only 22 districts to earn that honor, and received an Award of Distinction from the National 22 23 Institute for Excellence in Teaching; several campuses have

additionally won Title I National Distinguished School Awards; and

24

H.R. No. 1914

- 1 WHEREAS, Far from resting on its laurels, Lancaster ISD has
- 2 charted an ambitious path for the future; with the aid of a \$4.8
- 3 million grant from the Texas Instruments Foundation, the district
- 4 plans to implement an advanced science- and technology-based
- 5 curriculum in each of its campuses and expects to become the first
- 6 all-STEM district in the state; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Lancaster Independent School District has
- 8 excelled in its mission to foster a challenging and supportive
- 9 learning environment for young Texans, and the hard work and
- 10 dedication demonstrated by its faculty, staff, and students are
- 11 indeed worthy of commendation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize May 8, 2013, as Lancaster Independent
- 14 School District Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those in
- 15 attendance sincere best wishes for an enjoyable visit to Austin;
- 16 and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the
- 19 Texas House of Representatives.

Giddings

H.R. No. 1914

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado		Paddie
Anchia	Guerra	Parker
<u></u>	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Rose
Coleman		Sanford
	King of Taylor	Schaefer
Collier	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	zedler
Gonzales		
GOIIZATES	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1914
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1914 w 2013, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on May 8,
	Chief Clerk of the House