By: Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1935

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Southeast Dallas Business and Professional 2 Women's Senior and Youth Clubs honored Captain Dr. TeCora Ballom on 3 March 16, 2013, for her achievements in the field of medicine; and

WHEREAS, An affiliate of the National Association of Negro 4 5 Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Inc., the local organization each year celebrates Women's History Month with a 6 7 special program; the 2013 event recognized the work of four outstanding women from the Dallas area who are excelling in the 8 9 fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM), areas in which women are often underrepresented; and 10

11 WHEREAS, The daughter of Dr. Jesse Jones and Labelle Jones, TeCora Ballom graduated from Bishop College, attended medical 12 school at the University of North Texas Health Science Center, and 13 14 completed her postgraduate training at Detroit Osteopathic Hospital; a captain in the United States Public Health Service, 15 16 Dr. Ballom has practiced medicine for nine years and is a 17 board-certified osteopathic family physician; she currently serves as the medical director for the Federal Bureau of Prisons South 18 Central Region, overseeing health services for 44,000 inmates in 19 20 the area's 16 federal prisons; and

21 WHEREAS, Through her years of hard work and dedicated study, 22 TeCora Ballom has set an inspiring example for young African 23 American women who hope to pursue a career in STEM-related fields, 24 and she is indeed deserving of this notable honor; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 1935

1 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Captain Dr. TeCora Ballom on her selection as a Women's History Month honoree of the Southeast Dallas Business and Professional Women's Senior and Youth Clubs and commend her for her outstanding career in medicine; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Dr. Ballom as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.