H.R. No. 1937

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Southeast Dallas Business and Professional
Women's Senior and Youth Clubs honored Jennifer Manzay on March 16,
2013, for her achievements in the field of engineering; and

WHEREAS, An affiliate of the National Association of Negro 4 5 Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Inc., the local organization each year celebrates Women's History Month with a 6 7 special program; the 2013 event recognized the work of four outstanding women from the Dallas area who are excelling in the 8 9 fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM), areas in which women are often underrepresented; and 10

11 WHEREAS, The daughter of Jewel and Betty Manzay, Jennifer 12 Manzay graduated from Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, where she studied cello and piano; she 13 14 earned her bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from Florida A&M University and is currently working toward a master's degree in 15 16 systems engineering from Southern Methodist University; Ms. Manzay spent 12 years as a process engineer with Texas Instruments and has 17 been employed since 2006 by Bell Helicopter; and 18

WHEREAS, Through her years of hard work and dedicated study, Jennifer Manzay has set an inspiring example for young African American women who hope to pursue a career in STEM-related fields, and she is indeed deserving of this notable honor; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

1

H.R. No. 1937

Legislature hereby congratulate Jennifer Manzay on her selection as
a Women's History Month honoree of the Southeast Dallas Business
and Professional Women's Senior and Youth Clubs and commend her for
her outstanding career in engineering; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Manzay as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1937

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1937 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House