RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Five schools in the Aldine Independent School
District, Mendel Elementary, Stehlik Intermediate, Aldine Ninth
Grade, Aldine Senior High, and MacArthur Senior High, were among a
select group of just 16 schools in the country to receive the 2013
National Excellence in Urban Education Award; and
WHEREAS, Presented by the National Center for Urban School

WHEREAS, Presented by the National Center for Urban School Transformation, this distinction is bestowed on urban schools that 7 serve a large population of low-income students, adhere to 8 9 nonselective admissions criteria, and have high attendance; winning schools must feature rigorous curricula, including courses 10 11 in science, technology, engineering, and math, maintain classroom 12 conditions that prepare students for postgraduate success, and demonstrate academic proficiency across the general student 13 14 population; and

WHEREAS, Schools that meet the specified criteria are evaluated by a team of educators, researchers, and leaders representing award-winning schools from prior years; during a site visit, finalists are judged on curricular rigor, instructional effectiveness, and the quality of the learning environment; and

20 WHEREAS, The exemplary showing of the Aldine Independent 21 School District derives from a mission designed to equip students 22 with critical thinking skills and instill the values of productive 23 and responsible citizenship; through the careful allocation of 24 resources and the involvement of parents in the educational

H.R. No. 1948

- 1 process, the district engenders support throughout the community
- 2 and encourages exceptional achievements; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Aldine ISD is an award-winning school district and
- 4 the recipient of the 2009 Broad Prize for Urban Education and the
- 5 2008 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award; moreover,
- 6 representatives of school districts from across the nation and from
- 7 other countries have visited Aldine ISD to observe the district's
- 8 approach to instruction, which is based on an alignment of
- 9 curriculum, assessments, instructional support, and staff
- 10 development; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Through commitment and hard work, the
- 12 administrators, teachers, and students of Aldine ISD have built a
- 13 noteworthy record of academic accomplishment, and the five
- 14 institutions selected for this prestigious award are truly
- 15 deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate the Aldine Independent School
- 18 District and Mendel Elementary School, Stehlik Intermediate
- 19 School, Aldine Ninth Grade School, Aldine Senior High School, and
- 20 MacArthur Senior High School on receiving the 2013 National
- 21 Excellence in Urban Education Award; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Aldine ISD and each of the schools as an expression of
- 24 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Walle

H.R. No. 1948

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/ 3.4 4 4	

	H.R. No. 1948
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1948 w	as adopted by the House on May 13,
2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House