H.R. No. 1969

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The city of San Antonio lost an admired champion of
- 2 public education with the passing of Demetrio Pena Rodriguez on
- 3 April 22, 2013, at the age of 87; and
- WHEREAS, A longtime resident of the city's west side,
- 5 Mr. Rodriguez worked tirelessly to improve the Edgewood
- 6 Independent School District and to promote greater access to
- 7 high-quality education for students of all income levels and ethnic
- 8 backgrounds throughout Texas; he was a founding member of the
- 9 Edgewood District Concerned Parents Association, which protested
- 10 inadequate facilities, staffing, and resources; in 1968, he joined
- 11 with seven other parents to file a class action lawsuit in federal
- 12 district court, and he became the namesake for ${\it Rodriguez}\ v.\ {\it San}$
- 13 Antonio ISD, a landmark case in the history of education financing
- 14 reform; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Rodriguez remained engaged in school reform
- 16 issues long after his five children had graduated, and his
- 17 endeavors helped pave the way for positive change in Texas and
- 18 beyond; dedicated to social justice, he also worked in behalf of
- 19 such organizations as the American G.I. Forum, the League of United
- 20 Latin American Citizens, and the Mexican-American Betterment
- 21 Organization; he was a veteran of the military and was employed at
- 22 Kelly Air Force Base as a sheet metal worker; and
- 23 WHEREAS, A humble and unassuming man, Demetrio Rodriguez
- 24 earned the high regard of his fellow citizens through his vision,

H.R. No. 1969

- 1 courage, and determination, and his selfless commitment to public
- 2 education will forever remain a source of inspiration to all who
- 3 were fortunate enough to know him; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Demetrio Pena
- 6 Rodriguez and extend sincere condolences to the members of his
- 7 family: to his wife of more than 50 years, Belen Rodriguez; to his
- 8 children, David, Alex, Carlos, and Patricia; to his 12
- 9 grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren; to his sister, Esperanza
- 10 Velasquez; to his brother, Concepcion Rodriguez; and to his many
- 11 other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 14 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Demetrio
- 15 Rodriguez.

Rodriguez of Bexar

H.R. No. 1969

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Tarker King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier		
	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 19	69
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 1969 was	unanimously adopted by a risi	ng
vote of the House on May 22, 2013.		
	Chief Clerk of the House	