H.R. No. 1975

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Christian DeBerry of Hobby Middle School has been
selected as a 2013 Educator of the Year by the Northside Independent
School District in San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, Ms. DeBerry joined Northside ISD as a special education instructor, and during her five-year tenure, she has created a safe, supportive learning environment where children of all abilities feel welcome; and

8 WHEREAS, In addition to serving as the Hobby Middle School 9 Special Olympics coach, Ms. DeBerry founded a Friends Having Fun 10 buddy club in an effort to foster bonds between students; she has 11 also trained her fellow educators on crisis intervention, physical 12 positioning, and differentiated instruction, so that they may be 13 better equipped to address special needs; and

14 WHEREAS, Ms. DeBerry's exceptional dedication to her work has led to breakthroughs in the lives of her students; she has 15 taught a boy who was never expected to read how to do so, 16 facilitated the transition of several children 17 from а self-contained autism program to an inclusive applied learning 18 environment setting, and helped to teach a nonverbal student to use 19 20 his voice; and

21 WHEREAS, Christian DeBerry has aided many young people in 22 experiencing the immeasurable joy of discovery and achievement, and 23 her contributions have made a positive difference at Hobby Middle 24 School and in the greater community; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1975

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Christian DeBerry on being named a 3 2013 Northside ISD Educator of the Year and extend to her sincere 4 best wishes for continued success with her important work; and, be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. DeBerry as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Rodriguez of Bexar

H.R. No. 1975

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1975 was adopted by the House on May 22, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House