H.R. No. 1980

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Scientific Sessions is the leading annual 2 cardiovascular meeting for basic, translational, clinical, and
- 3 population science in the United States today, and a number of the
- 4 event's participants are visiting the State Capitol on this day;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Scientific Sessions was founded in 1925 by a small
- 7 group of visionary physicians from the American Heart Association;
- 8 the 2013 event is being held in Dallas, where AHA is headquartered,
- 9 from November 16 to 20 and is expected to attract more than 18,000
- 10 experts from over 100 countries, while more than 1.5 million
- 11 professionals will participate online; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Programming at Scientific Sessions focuses on the
- 13 most timely and significant advances in prevention, diagnosis, and
- 14 treatment of cardiovascular disease, and it encompasses a variety
- 15 of perspectives; over the course of five days, the conference
- 16 features more than 5,000 presentations and 4,000 abstract
- 17 presentations; attendees include 1,000 invited faculty members and
- 18 some 200 exhibitors showcasing the latest technology and resources;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Scientific Sessions has
- 21 heralded numerous medical advancements while contributing
- 22 immeasurably to medical knowledge and improvements in patient care,
- 23 and the conference has provided vital support to the fight against
- 24 cardiovascular disease and stroke; now, therefore, be it

## H.R. No. 1980

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize Scientific Sessions for its
- 3 contributions to cardiovascular science and extend to all those
- 4 involved in the conference sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success with their important work; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Scientific Sessions as an expression of high regard by
- 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Branch

## H.R. No. 1980

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1980
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1980 was	adopted by the House on May 9,
2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House