## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A monument honoring the legacy of Tejanos was

unveiled on the historic grounds of the State Capitol on March 29,

3 2012, and in the year since, it has served to educate visitors on an

4 important chapter in the story of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, The initiative began in 2000 when Dr. Cayetano

Barrera, a physician in McAllen, raised a question about the lack of

7 recognition for Hispanic contributions to the state in the works on

8 the Capitol grounds; he brought his concern to state leaders, and in

9 2001, the Texas Legislature passed a resolution calling for a

10 statue honoring Tejanos; and

2

6

12

13

18

11 WHEREAS, Crafted by sculptor Armando Hinojosa, the Tejano

Monument features life-size figures of a Spanish explorer, a family

of settlers, and a mustang-riding vaquero herding a pair of

14 longhorns; each part of the monument signifies a specific

15 historical contribution by Tejanos and their ancestors, whose

16 influences continue to be felt in all aspects of daily life; and

WHEREAS, The grassroots campaign that carried the endeavor to

completion saw laborious but steady progress over the course of 12

19 years, as several administrative hurdles were overcome and more

20 than \$1 million was collected by private supporters; in 2010,

21 design and final state approval was granted by the State

22 Preservation Board and bronzing of the statues and site preparation

23 could finally begin; two years later, the Tejano Monument was

24 unveiled to a crowd of more than 1,000 supporters and much acclaim;

1 and

The enthusiasm engendered by the 2 WHEREAS, monument 3 additionally spurred the establishment of the Tejano History Curriculum Project, which helps to foster among elementary school 4 5 students a deeper understanding of the significant accomplishments of Tejanos over the centuries; undertaken by The University of 6 Texas College of Education with the support of 7 corporate, 8 educational, and nonprofit partners, the program is slated to expand to other universities and to school districts throughout the 9 10 state; and

11 WHEREAS, The Tejano Monument was realized in large part due 12 to the commitment and leadership of an intrepid group of executive board members: Dr. Barrera, president, Homero Vera, Dr. Andres 13 14 Tijerina, and Renato Ramirez, vice presidents, Richard P. Sanchez, 15 secretary and treasurer, and Jaime Beaman, director; further aiding in its success were advisory board members Benny Martinez, Loretta 16 17 Williams, Aida Torres, William Zermeño, Estella Zermeño, Judge Emilio Vargas, and R. J. Molina, along with a host of other 18 19 tireless advocates; and

WHEREAS, Spanning nearly half a millennium, the history of 20 people of Spanish descent in what is now Texas comprises a broad 21 spectrum of achievements that have advanced the civilization and 22 23 shaped the cultural identity that so defines the Lone Star State; as 24 a tribute to the immeasurable impact of their accomplishments, the Tejano Monument serves as a beacon and a source of tremendous pride 25 26 that will continue to enlighten and inspire Texans for generations to come; now, therefore, be it 27

H.R. No. 2015

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the one-year anniversary of the
- 3 dedication of the Tejano Monument and extend best wishes to all
- 4 those involved with the creation and establishment of the monument
- 5 and the Tejano History Curriculum Project.

Raymond Guillen Muñoz, Jr. Martinez Fischer Hernandez Luna King of Zavala

## H.R. No. 2015

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2015 was	adopted by the House on May 10,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 2015

2013, by a non-record vote.