H.R. No. 2059

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dick and Horacene Daugird, founders of the
- 2 Lighthouse Charity Team, have been named the 2013 Citizens of the
- 3 Year by the Galveston County Daily News; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The organization takes its name from the landmark
- 5 building that houses the Daugirds' insurance office, which was
- 6 constructed to resemble a lighthouse; the couple's involvement in
- 7 charitable work began in 1984, when they agreed to provide meals for
- 8 the local MDA telethon; and
- 9 WHEREAS, With the success of that initial event, Mr. and Mrs.
- 10 Daugird saw an opportunity to help the greater community, and they
- 11 established the Lighthouse Charity Team, which provides food at
- 12 cost for nonprofit fund-raisers; averaging about 100 events a year
- 13 for the past decade, the operation has helped to support the Boy
- 14 Scouts, Jaycees, and Rotary Club, as well as the Galveston County
- 15 Food Bank, the Friendswood Volunteer Fire Department, the Galveston
- 16 Police Department Blue Santa program, and Wounded Warriors; the
- 17 team's generous efforts have also benefited individuals affected by
- 18 Hurricanes Rita, Ike, and Katrina and the devastating fires in
- 19 Central Texas; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Those individuals who step forward to share their
- 21 time and resources are indeed deserving of gratitude, and it is a
- 22 pleasure to honor Dick and Horacene Daugird for their contributions
- 23 to the Gulf Coast community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 2059

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Dick and Horacene Daugird on being
- 2 named the 2013 Citizens of the Year by the Galveston County Daily
- 3 News; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Daugird as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Eiland Bonnen of Galveston

H.R. No. 2059

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2059 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House