H.R. No. 2067

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A select group of athletes from the boys' high
- 2 school soccer teams in Hardin, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, and Newton
- 3 Counties have been recognized with postseason honors as a result of
- 4 their exceptional performances during 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Three players on the Lumberton High School squad,
- 6 forwards Alejandro Becerra and Kolson Watts and defender Andrew
- 7 Smith, were named to the Beaumont Enterprise Super Gold Team; in
- 8 addition, each of these young men received All-District accolades;
- 9 Mr. Becerra was Co-Most Valuable Player, Mr. Watts was a Forward of
- 10 the Year, and Mr. Smith was a Defensive Player of the Year; the
- 11 other Lumberton team members receiving District 37-4A honors were
- 12 Oliver Jiminez, who was deemed the Newcomer of the Year, Jansen
- 13 Wahl, Nathan Benson, and Jonathan Delaune, who were selected for
- 14 the first team, and Kilby Pope, Dakota Kline, and Josh Fusilier, who
- 15 were chosen for the second team; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Silsbee High School team was also well
- 17 represented in the awards selections, with Karl Elers winning a
- 18 spot on the Super Gold Team and being named All-District Midfielder
- 19 of the Year, while Brandon Morales earned a Forward of the Year
- 20 accolade; in addition, Cristobal Aboytes and Niko Santini were
- 21 tapped for the All-District first team, and Moises Martinez, Evan
- 22 Craft, and Micah Ayers for the second team; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Four Hardin-Jefferson High School athletes were
- 24 lauded, as Bailey Bledsoe was singled out as the District 37-4A

H.R. No. 2067

- 1 Utility Player of the Year, Eddie Alvarez was part of the first-team
- 2 roster, and Ryan Leger and Quade Robertson joined the second-team
- 3 lineup; and
- WHEREAS, Among the Livingston High School competitors,
- 5 Carlos Davalos was a recipient of a District 37-4A Co-Most Valuable
- 6 Player award, Kade Burman was the Goalkeeper of the Year, and Javier
- 7 Davalos was a Defensive Player of the Year; rounding out the list of
- 8 All-District honorees were Jasper High School's Samuel Navarro, who
- 9 was chosen for the first team, and Cesar Sierra and Cesar Galvan,
- 10 who were selected for the second team; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Demonstrating skill and commitment, these athletes
- 12 made important contributions to their teams during the 2013 season,
- 13 and they may reflect with pride on their achievements and on the
- 14 prestigious recognition they have received; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate the boys' high school soccer
- 17 players from Hardin, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, and Newton Counties who
- 18 garnered Super Gold or All-District awards for their performances
- 19 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 20 be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the players as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

White

H.R. No. 2067

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2067 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House