H.R. No. 2068

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An elite group of competitors from the girls' high 2 school soccer teams in Hardin, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, and Newton 3 Counties have been recognized with postseason honors as a result of 4 their exceptional performances during 2013; and

WHEREAS, Two players on the Lumberton High School squad, 5 forwards Shay Mitchell and Erin Miller, were named to the Beaumont 6 7 Enterprise Super Gold Team; both young women also earned All-District accolades, with Ms. Mitchell designated the Most 8 Valuable Player and Ms. Miller the Offensive Player of the Year; 9 the other Lumberton team members receiving District 37-4A honors 10 11 were Shannon Flowers, who was deemed the Newcomer of the Year, 12 Kennedy Hardy, Katie Evans, Sidney Duckworth, Lauren Glover, and Lanie Smith, who were chosen for the first team, and Madison 13 14 Carlton, Emma Benson, Kennedy Cline, Destin Corley, and Tayler Montelaro, who made the second team; Lumberton head coach Jason 15 Hopson was selected as the Super Gold and district Coach of the 16 Year; and 17

18 WHEREAS, The Jasper High School team was also well represented in the All-District awards, with Pamela McFarland being 19 20 honored as a Defensive Player of the Year and Whitney McShan as 21 Goalkeeper of the Year; in addition, Alex Richardson, Marissa 22 Durand, Emmalee Carter, and Macie Allie were named to the 23 All-District first team, and Walker-Ann Wilson, Elisha Lovett, Mallory Long, and Mercedes McCray to the second team; and 24

1

H.R. No. 2068

WHEREAS, From the Hardin-Jefferson High School squad, 1 Kathryne Padgett was selected as a district Midfield Player of the 2 3 Year and Raegan Padgett as a Defensive Player of the Year; other Hawks receiving accolades included Reagan Leger, Tori Harbin, and 4 5 Brenda Iglesias, who were part of the first-team roster, and Maddie Holdreith, Maris Biggs, and Kaylie Brown, who 6 joined the second-team lineup; and 7

8 WHEREAS, Livingston High School athlete Stephanie Sanchez 9 was a District 37-4A Midfield Player of the Year, and teammate 10 Amanda Goenaga was the Utility Player of the Year; moreover, 11 Estefany Sanchez and Emily Jasso were first-team honorees, and 12 Melanie Moore, Marietza Bauer, and Savannah Fort were members of 13 the second team; and

14 WHEREAS, Rounding out the list of All-District award winners 15 were Silsbee High School players Brayli Griffin, Mariah Waters, and 16 Kimberli Smith on the first team and Ashley Waters, Madison 17 Apshire, and Baylee LeBlanc on the second team; and

18 WHEREAS, Demonstrating skill and commitment, these players 19 made important contributions to their teams during the 2013 season, 20 and they may reflect with pride on their achievements and on the 21 recognition they have received; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the girls' high school soccer players from Hardin, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, and Newton Counties who garnered Super Gold or All-District awards for their performances and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

2

H.R. No. 2068 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for the players as an expression of high regard by the 3 Texas House of Representatives.

White

H.R. No. 2068

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2068 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House