H.R. No. 2070

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Locally owned businesses contribute greatly to the
- 2 prosperity of Texas communities, and the success of Glenn Johnson
- 3 of Lufkin as a Whataburger franchise owner has earned him the Joe
- 4 Andrews Sr. Franchisee of the Year Award at the Whataburger
- 5 corporate convention held in Dallas on April 24, 2013; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Named after the owner of Whataburger's first
- 7 franchise restaurant, this award recognizes the franchisee who best
- 8 promotes and protects the Whataburger brand; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Glenn Johnson started with Whataburger as a general
- 10 manager in 1982, and in 1985, he acquired his first franchise in
- 11 Lufkin and founded his own company, GVCS, Inc.; since then, his
- 12 business has grown to include three locations in Lufkin as well as
- 13 Whataburgers in Nacogdoches, Jasper, Timpson, Carthage, Center,
- 14 Joaquin, and Mt. Enterprise, and he is opening two more, in Corrigan
- 15 and Woodville; and
- WHEREAS, Through his initiative, entrepreneurship, and hard
- 17 work, Glenn Johnson has created jobs and opportunities across East
- 18 Texas, and he may indeed take great pride in this prestigious
- 19 recognition of his achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Glenn Johnson of Lufkin on his
- 22 receipt of the 2013 Joe Andrews Sr. Franchisee of the Year Award
- 23 from Whataburger and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 24 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

H.R. No. 2070

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

White Ashby Clardy Paddie

H.R. No. 2070

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2070 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House