H.R. No. 2273

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Locally owned and operated businesses are vital to 2 the prosperity of Texas, and Angelina Hardwood Sales Company has 3 been contributing to the economy of East Texas for 68 years; and

WHEREAS, Angelina Hardwood was established in Lufkin in 1945 by George H. Henderson, Sr., who drew on his experience working at the Ewing Mill to create a high quality wood product; an innovator by nature, he soon turned his business from furniture to focus exclusively on trailer flooring; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Henderson adapted as the market changed and 10 began importing wood from the Philippines; his son, George H. 11 Henderson, Jr., assumed leadership of the business in 1975, and he 12 continued the tradition of excellence and innovation by introducing 13 new technology and separating the business into sales and 14 manufacturing components; and

15 WHEREAS, Today, the company is led by current president 16 George H. Henderson III, who has made significant contributions to 17 the enterprise while continuing the family's legacy of 18 philanthropy; and

WHEREAS, For the last seven decades, the Henderson family has been a positive force in the area, providing needed jobs and supporting community services, and it is most fitting to take this opportunity to recognize the achievements of the family and the longevity of the business; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby congratulate George H. Henderson III and all 2 members of the Henderson family on the 68th anniversary of the 3 founding of Angelina Hardwood and extend to them sincere best 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the family as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 2273

H.R. No. 2273

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2273

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2273 was adopted by the House on May 22, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House