H.R. No. 2316

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Vesta Carol Hillsamer Williams of Victoria, the
- 2 mother of our esteemed colleague, the Honorable Geanie W. Morrison,
- 3 passed away on June 6, 2012, at the age of 81; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The daughter of Alva Lawrence and Neda McDonald
- 5 Hillsamer, the former Vesta Hillsamer was born in Cushing,
- 6 Oklahoma, on May 21, 1931; she graduated from Drumright High School
- 7 and married William Eugene Williams in 1949, moving with him to
- 8 Arkansas for several years, then to Victoria; their decades of
- 9 devoted matrimony were further enriched by the addition of four
- 10 children; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This accomplished woman worked for Victoria Bank and
- 12 Trust and was engaged in many community programs; an active
- 13 congregant at First Christian Church, she served as a member of the
- 14 diaconate, chair of the membership and worship committees, church
- 15 historian, and president of the Christian Women's Fellowship; she
- 16 also participated in the church's Morning Study Club and was a
- 17 founding board member of the Victoria Christian Assistance
- 18 Ministry, where she volunteered weekly; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Mrs. Williams was a committed member of the Victoria
- 20 County Republican Women, serving as secretary of the executive
- 21 committee for six years; moreover, she was a precinct chair and
- 22 attended county and state conventions as a delegate; in 2004, she
- 23 was recognized as a Tribute to Women honoree by the Texas Federation
- 24 of Republican Women for her commendable volunteer efforts over the

- 1 years; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Vesta Williams lived a rich and purposeful life
- 3 centered around her faith, family, and community, and she will
- 4 forever be remembered with great admiration and affection by all
- 5 who had the good fortune to know her; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Vesta Carol
- 8 Hillsamer Williams and extend deepest sympathy to the members of
- 9 her family: to her children, State Representative Geanie
- 10 W. Morrison and her husband, Jack, Jeff Williams and his wife,
- 11 Wanda, Carol Williams and her partner, Chris Bird, and Wayne
- 12 Williams and his wife, Mary Catherine; to her grandchildren, Lauri
- 13 Perry and her husband, Chris, Matt Morrison, Jason Newbern, Tammy
- 14 Shamburger and her husband, Austin, and Alex, Grace, and Kate
- 15 Williams; to her great-grandchildren, Cole and Ella Perry, Madison
- 16 Williams, and Brooklyn Shamburger; to her sister, Linda Pybus
- 17 Glover, and her husband, Steven; to her nephews, Charles Pybus and
- 18 his wife, Sue, John Pybus and his wife, Vickie, Johnnie Lee High and
- 19 his wife, Wilma, Bobby King and his wife, Sue, and Gerald High; to
- 20 her nieces, Zella Lue Rice and Nathalie Taylor; and to her other
- 21 relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Vesta
- 25 Williams.

King of Parker

## H.R. No. 2316

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Otto Paddie Alonzo Gooden Parker Guerra Alvarado Anchia Guillen Patrick Gutierrez Anderson Perez Harless Perry Ashby Harper-Brown Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Pickett Bohac Herrero Pitts Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Price Bonnen of Galveston Howard Raney Branch Huberty Ratliff Burkett Hughes Raymond Burnam Hunter Reynolds Riddle Isaac Button Johnson Callegari Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Canales Kacal Rodriguez of Travis Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rose Sanford Clardy Coleman Schaefer King of Zavala Collier Sheets Cook Kleinschmidt Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Cortez Klick Kolkhorst Craddick Simmons Krause Simpson Creighton Crownover Kuempel Smith Dale Larson Smithee Darby Laubenberg Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender Stephenson J. Davis of Harris Leach Stickland S. Davis of Harris Lewis Strama Deshotel Longoria Taylor Dukes Lozano Thompson of Brazoria Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Harris Eiland Marquez Toth Turner of Collin Elkins Martinez Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Martinez Fischer Fallon Farias McClendon Menendez Villalba Farney Miles Villarreal Farrar Miller of Comal Fletcher Vo Miller of Fort Bend Walle Flynn Frank Moody White Workman Frullo Munoz, Jr. Geren Murphy Wıı Giddings Zedler Naishtat

Zerwas

Nevarez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Speak	er of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2316 was unanimously	y adopted by a rising
6 +1 H W 21 2012	

H.R. No. 2316

Chief Clerk of the House

vote of the House on May 21, 2013.