## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Children's Medical Center is celebrating its 2 100th anniversary during 2013, and this event provides a welcome 3 opportunity to recognize the organization for its notable 4 achievements; and

5 WHEREAS, On April 6, 1913, an open-air clinic was established in Dallas to address the chronic problem of infant mortality caused 6 7 by dehydration and malnutrition; over the decades, that "baby camp" has grown to become the fifth-largest pediatric health care 8 provider in the country; Children's Medical Center is ranked by 9 News & World Report in all 10 of the publication's rated 10 *U.S.* 11 specialties for 2012-2013, and it is the only children's facility 12 in the nation to achieve seven disease-specific certifications from The Joint Commission; its quality nursing staff has earned the 13 14 approval of the American Nurses Credentialing Center Magnet Recognition Program; moreover, the center partnered with The 15 University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center to found the 16 Children's Medical Center Research Institute and publishes the 17 annual Beyond ABC report, which provides comprehensive data on the 18 wellness of children in six North Texas counties; and 19

20 WHEREAS, In addition to its advances in pediatrics, 21 Children's Medical Center employs thousands of individuals across 22 its two main campuses in Dallas and Plano and its multiple specialty 23 clinics, for a total economic impact of approximately \$1.6 billion 24 per year; moreover, the center welcomes all children regardless of

1

1 a family's ability to pay and without tax support from the city or 2 county, and it provided \$140 million in community benefits in 2011; 3 the center's network of MyChildren's pediatric primary-care offices 4 in underserved areas allowed nearly 100,000 children to receive 5 vital treatment in their own neighborhoods during 2012; and

6 WHEREAS, For a century, Children's Medical Center has 7 rendered exceptional service to the residents of North Texas, and 8 it has set a nationally renowned example of pediatric care; now, 9 therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 11 Legislature hereby honor Children's Medical Center on its 100th 12 anniversary and extend to all those associated with the center 13 sincere best wishes for a memorable centennial celebration and 14 continued success with their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the center as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Johnson Anchia Branch Carter Button Giddings Villalba

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2345 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House