RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Throughout its long and impressive history, The
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center has stood at the
forefront of important medical research that has changed the way
the world thinks about the most challenging and devastating
diseases and that has resulted in revolutionary new treatments and
outcomes; and

7 WHEREAS, Recognized as highly significant to the medical community, these discoveries have led to an unprecedented number of 8 9 national and international peer-reviewed honors for UТ Southwestern faculty, including election to some of our nation's 10 11 most prestigious medical research organizations; and

12 WHEREAS, UT Southwestern faculty boast a level of achievement that is unique in the State of Texas; the institution is now home to 13 14 95 percent of all scientists at state health-related institutions who have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, regarded 15 16 as the "hall of fame" for U.S. researchers, and 100 percent of those selected as investigators of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, a 17 coveted honor that brings in many millions in private grant 18 funding; moreover, all five Nobel laureates at statewide 19 health-related institutions, including four laureates who are 20 21 active, are affiliated with UT Southwestern; and

23 Southwestern is pleased to announce the election of another of its

22

WHEREAS, Adding to this highly distinguished roster, UT

- 1 Levine; an expert in autophagy, she identified the first known gene
- 2 responsible for the cellular process by which cells devour their
- 3 own damaged or unneeded components, a function that is critical for
- 4 protection against many cancers and viral and bacterial infections;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, The mission of UT Southwestern Medical Center and
- 7 its renowned faculty is to deliver quality medical care that brings
- 8 scientific advances to the bedside, to conduct high-impact,
- 9 internationally recognized research, and to educate leaders in
- 10 biomedical science, patient care, and disease prevention;
- 11 acknowledging research as the cornerstone on which world-class
- 12 health education and patient care are built, UT Southwestern
- 13 annually secures more than \$415 million for cutting-edge medical
- 14 studies; and
- WHEREAS, UT Southwestern, the sixth-largest medical school
- 16 in the United States, educates more than 930 medical students and
- 17 over 1,600 residents; it ranks as the nation's fourth-largest
- 18 graduate medical education program and the single largest in the
- 19 state, training nearly one in four doctors at all statewide
- 20 health-related institutions; in addition, its faculty educate over
- 21 1,800 graduate students and Fellows as part of the largest
- 22 biomedical sciences graduate program in Texas, thereby
- 23 contributing promising scientific minds to our state and nation;
- 24 and
- WHEREAS, Serving the health care needs of their community,
- 26 the faculty and residents of UT Southwestern care for more than
- 27 100,000 hospitalized patients and conduct nearly 2.1 million

- 1 outpatient visits each year; the medical center also plays an
- 2 important role in the regional economy, with approximately 12,000
- 3 employees and an annual operating budget of nearly \$1.8 billion;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Dedicated to improving the field of medicine through
- 6 research, innovation, and education, UT Southwestern Medical
- 7 Center is developing the next generation of health professionals
- 8 and the next wave of lifesaving treatments, and it is a privilege to
- 9 recognize its ongoing commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be
- 10 it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor The University of Texas Southwestern
- 13 Medical Center on its unique contributions in research and
- 14 education and extend to all those associated with the institution
- 15 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for UT Southwestern Medical Center as an expression of
- 18 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Johnson Sheets Giddings Branch Anchia Button Alonzo Carter

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2346
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2346 was	adopted by the House on May 17,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

2013, by a non-record vote.