## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Plains High School one-act play team has 2 advanced to the state level of University Interscholastic League 3 competition for the third consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, State 1A champions in both 2011 and 2012, the 4 5 one-act play team took top honors in this year's regional competition on April 20, 2013; the cast performed scenes from 6 7 Journey to Jefferson, Robert Flynn's adaptation of the William Faulkner classic As I Lay Dying; in his critique, the judge praised 8 9 many aspects of the production, including the scenic work, the character development, and the energy and physicality of the cast; 10 11 and

12 WHEREAS, The troupe also received the Honor Crew Award, and its members earned a number of other accolades; Merritt Crump was 13 14 named Best Actor, Salvador Corrales and Riley Earnest were selected as All-Star Cast Members, and Matthew Ramos, Colby Bearden, and 15 16 Brittany Michaelson were chosen as Honorable Mention All-Star Cast Members; further contributing to this exceptional dramatization 17 were actors Jasmine Rivera, Taya Hamilton, Jacob Neufeld, Jacob 18 Garcia, Nicholas Anna, Autumn Friesen, Johnathan Davis, Kassidee 19 20 Taylor, and Dantz DeBusk, alternates Cole Gatzki, Madison Davis, Alyx Henderson, and Brhett Pierce, and crew members Jaston Brink, 21 Katie Dearing, Taylor Michaelson, Haley Welch, and Zackery Wilkins; 22 23 and

24

WHEREAS, Under the guidance of directors Lou Lindsey, John

1

Harris, and Kelly Bowers, these talented young people have demonstrated a strong commitment to maintaining their school's tradition of excellence in the dramatic arts, and their accomplishments are a source of pride to their school and their community; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature hereby congratulate the Plains High School one-act play 8 team on advancing to the UIL state championship for the third 9 consecutive year and extend to the members sincere best wishes for 10 continued success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 13 House of Representatives.

King of Hemphill

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2442 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House