H.R. No. 2446

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Matthew Alec Guzman of Boy Scouts of America Troop
- 2 No. 567 in Lubbock has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
- 3 accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and
- WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant
- 5 honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the
- 6 scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding
- 7 criteria, Mr. Guzman earned the requisite 21 merit badges and
- 8 successfully completed an Eagle Scout project in which he
- 9 constructed and painted a wall of shelves to house large band
- 10 instruments at Anton High School; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The son of Vanessa and Manuel Guzman, this fine
- 12 young Texan is a senior honor student at Lubbock High School, where
- 13 he sings in the varsity choir, and he has been an altar server at
- 14 Christ the King Cathedral for eight years; he has demonstrated
- 15 outstanding leadership ability throughout his scouting career,
- 16 winning the respect and admiration of his fellow scouts as he worked
- 17 toward the highest rank that scouting offers and serving his troop
- 18 in such positions as assistant patrol leader, senior patrol leader,
- 19 and chaplain aide; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Guzman's dedication to excellence and
- 21 his perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy
- 22 to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with
- 23 pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 2446

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Matthew Alec Guzman on achieving
- 2 the rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Eagle Scout Guzman as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Frullo

H.R. No. 2446

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2446 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House