H.R. No. 2520

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas Federation for Republican 2 Outreach Legislative Day at the State Capitol on May 23, 2013, 3 provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the notable service of 4 Willie Wright of Houston as a former Republican Party precinct 5 chair; and

6 WHEREAS, Established in 1986 as the Black Republican Council 7 of Texas, the Texas Federation for Republican Outreach is an auxiliary of the Republican Party of Texas that recruits African 8 9 American voters as Republican precinct chairs in Harris and Fort Bend Counties; citizens who have participated in this initiative 10 11 come from a wide range of backgrounds, but they share common values, 12 including devotion to family, faith, and freedom, and they strive together to promote increased diversity in the party; and 13

WHEREAS, Precinct chairs serve as the ambassadors of their political party, and they take on responsibilities that require tremendous dedication and many hours of hard work; moreover, they serve as election judges in primary and general elections; these civic-minded individuals are integral to the success of the party's mission to elect public servants who will build a better tomorrow; and

21 WHEREAS, Through their involvement, precinct chairs are 22 making a positive difference in their communities, this state, and 23 the nation, and they may take justifiable pride in their admirable 24 record of civic engagement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2520

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Willie Wright for serving as a former
- 3 Republican Party precinct chair and extend to this outstanding
- 4 Texan sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Willie Wright as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

White Carter Turner of Collin

H.R. No. 2520

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2520 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House