By: Flynn H.R. No. 2530

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Wesley Chapel Christian Methodist
- 2 Episcopal Church in Greenville celebrated the 135th anniversary of
- 3 their church's founding on May 5, 2013; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This historic congregation was organized in 1878 and
- 5 first gathered at a site near the courthouse known as "across the
- 6 thicket"; it relocated to Johnson Street under the direction of the
- 7 Reverend N. M. Means in 1918, and that church was later remodeled
- 8 when the Reverend Travis Moore presided; in 1984, using land
- 9 donated by J. Campbell Murrell, a new sanctuary was built at the
- 10 present location on Kennedy Street during the tenure of the
- 11 Reverend V. McCalister; and
- WHEREAS, Through the decades, Wesley Chapel CME has benefited
- 13 from the efforts of many other outstanding members of the clergy,
- 14 and today that tradition of service continues under the direction
- 15 of the Reverend Harold Wright; the congregation has also placed a
- 16 strong emphasis on the work carried out by the Missionary Society,
- 17 and that dedicated group is guided by Joanne Wakefield, who has
- 18 served as its president since 1986; another valuable leader in the
- 19 current church family is Herbert Scott, who holds the office of
- 20 presiding elder; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Countless Greenville residents have looked to
- 22 Wesley Chapel Christian Methodist Episcopal Church for spiritual
- 23 enrichment and guidance for well over a century, and it is a
- 24 pleasure to join in honoring the church at this special time in its

H.R. No. 2530

- 1 rich history; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 135th anniversary of the
- 4 founding of Wesley Chapel Christian Methodist Episcopal Church and
- 5 extend to its members and leaders sincere best wishes for the
- 6 future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.