RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Hidalgo County lost an esteemed 2 community leader, legal advocate, and friend to many with the death 3 of Elizabeth M. Garcia on May 5, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Born to Lorenzo and Ercilia Garcia, "Lisa" Garcia graduated in 1983 from Pharr--San Juan--Alamo High School, where she served as president of her senior class; she went on to attend The University of Texas at Austin, earning a bachelor's degree in finance and international business in 1987, and to obtain her juris doctorate from Texas Southern University in 1992; and

10 WHEREAS, Beginning her notable career as a briefing attorney 11 with the Second Court of Appeals of Texas, Ms. Garcia continued her 12 record of public service as an assistant attorney general for the State of Texas, as an attorney with the Office of the Texas 13 14 Comptroller of Public Accounts, and as a prosecutor in the Hidalgo County District Attorney's Office; in 2004, she entered private 15 16 practice as a civil and personal injury litigator with what would soon become Vidaurri, Lyde, Rodriguez & Haynes, LLP; and 17

WHEREAS, Ms. Garcia served as an outstanding example of her profession, and she was a mentor to many aspiring female attorneys; dedicated to ensuring access to justice, she was a member of the Texas RioGrande Legal Aid, Inc., Board of Directors, and she provided pro bono legal assistance to Volunteer Legal Services of Central Texas; she further contributed to her profession as a fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation, which she served as chair of the

1

District 12 Nominating Committee, and as a member of the Hidalgo 1 County Women's Bar Section; engaged in her community as well, she 2 3 served as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) and participated in the Hidalgo County Democratic Women of Texas; 4 moreover, she established an endowment to benefit bilingual UT law 5 students from the Rio Grande Valley; along the way, she endeared 6 herself to countless people with her warmth, her ready smile, and 7 8 her generosity of spirit; and

9 WHEREAS, While the life of Lisa Garcia ended far too soon, she 10 leaves behind a legacy that will forever be treasured by all those 11 who knew and loved her; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Elizabeth M. Garcia 13 14 and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family: to her 15 mother, Ercilia Z. Garcia; to her brother, Javier Garcia, and his wife, Connie; to her companion, Gary C. Hughes; to her siblings, 16 17 Anna M. Garcia and Gerardo R. Garcia; to her nephew, Eric; to her nieces, Jennifer, Lauren, and Sabrina; and to her other relatives 18 19 and many friends; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lisa 23 Garcia.

Guerra

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2532 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 22, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House