By: Howard H.R. No. 2545

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The NEW Leadership Texas program is being held at 2 The University of Texas at Austin from May 30 to June 4, 2013; and 3 WHEREAS, Hosted by the UT Center for Women's and Gender Studies, with support from the Embrey Family Foundation, 4 5 Leadership Texas is a nonpartisan intensive residential program that educates college women about politics and policy-making and 6 7 encourages them to get involved in the political process; the program was developed in part by the NEW Leadership Development 8 9 Network, a national partnership that currently includes 21 colleges and universities and that is based at the Center for American Women 10 11 and Politics at Rutgers University; and 12 WHEREAS, NEW Leadership Texas has accepted 23 applicants for the 2013 session: Nneka Waturuocha, Camiel Alexis DeSmet, Andrea 13 14 Middleton, Angela Morales, and Jelisa Robinson of The University of Texas at Austin, Jessica D'Souza, Anthoniafreda Chidimma Okafor, 15 16 Diane Oxley, and Selina Marie Sanchez of The University of Texas at Dallas, Michelle Mendez of the University of Houston, Bolaji 17 Adedolapo Afolabi of Texas Tech University, Jacqueline Verastigui 18 of Texas A&M International University, Christine Mojezati of 19 20 Tarleton State University, Kathrine Galvan of St. University, Sarita Clark of Southern Methodist University, Norma 21 Torres Mendoza and Leeyah Rassu of Rice University, Angelica Erazo 22 23 of Huston-Tillotson University, Casandra Vazquez of Brookhaven College, Makenzie Fitzgerald of Baylor University, Maria "Amy" 24

H.R. No. 2545

- 1 Escobar of Austin Community College, Deanna Marie Adelita Diaz of
- 2 Fort Lewis College in Colorado, and Amani Mousa Abusoboh of Beir
- 3 Zeit University in Palestine; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Women bring different priorities and experiences to
- 5 deliberations about public issues, and NEW Leadership Texas is an
- 6 important effort toward increasing female leadership in the public
- 7 realm, both in the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2013 class of NEW Leadership
- 10 Texas and extend to its members sincere best wishes for an enjoyable
- 11 and meaningful experience.