## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The untimely passing of Andrew Jared Swope of 2 Amarillo on January 15, 2013, at the age of 27, brought a great loss

3 to his community and to the many people whose lives were touched by

4 this remarkable man; and

10

WHEREAS, Born in Amarillo on January 29, 1985, A. J. Swope was the son of Rick and Leslie Swope; he graduated from Pampa High School and went on to complete his bachelor's degree in mass communication at West Texas A&M University, where he worked on multiple broadcast management teams and served as program director

11 mentor to his fellow students and played a key role in the growth of

for KWTS, the campus radio station; in addition, he was a thoughtful

12 the school's broadcast program; and

13 WHEREAS, Mr. Swope began his career at KVII-TV as an on-air 14 reporter and anchor, and he rose to become assignments editor; during his tenure, he distinguished himself through his talent, 15 16 drive, and leadership; his work on news segments about wind energy led to a new passion, and he became the first executive director of 17 18 Class 4 Winds and Renewables in 2009; in that capacity, he represented the Panhandle wind industry at the state, national, and 19 international levels, and he provided educational opportunities 20 21 and assistance in coordinating regional resources; reaching out to a wide variety of individuals and businesses with a stake in the 22 23 development of the industry, he helped create common ground where those with diverse interests could gain knowledge and share ideas, 24

- 1 and along the way, he cultivated numerous lasting friendships; and
- WHEREAS, Musically talented as well, he led the band AJ Swope
- 3 and the Last Train Home, which built a strong following among
- 4 roots-rock and alternative country fans at venues around the area;
- 5 the group released an album, Hotel St. James, in 2012; Mr. Swope
- 6 wrote songs from the heart, and among his favorites were "Company
- 7 Man, "written for his dad, and "Autumn Girl," written for his wife;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Swope was devoted to his wife, Wendi, and to his
- 10 large extended family; an adventurous outdoorsman, he enjoyed
- 11 fly-fishing, hiking, riding trials bikes, surfing, sailing, and
- 12 kayaking, and he spent countless hours biking in Palo Duro Canyon
- 13 and riding around his neighborhood with his faithful companion,
- 14 Simon the Dog, in a cart behind him; and
- WHEREAS, In May 2013, Sharyland Utilities announced that its
- 16 new substation in Potter County will be named the AJ Swope Station
- 17 as a memorial to this dynamic Texan; and
- WHEREAS, Through his warmth, kindness, and quick sense of
- 19 humor, A. J. Swope endeared himself to innumerable people across
- 20 the state, and his commitment to making a positive difference will
- 21 remain a source of inspiration to all who were fortunate enough to
- 22 know him; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Andrew Jared Swope
- 25 and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his
- 26 wife, Wendi Swope; to his parents, Rick and Leslie Swope; to his
- 27 brother, Dirk Swope, and his wife, Val; to his niece, Peyton Swope;

H.R. No. 2596

- and to his many other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of
- 5 A. J. Swope.

Smithee

## H.R. No. 2596

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

	H.R. No. 2596
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2596 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on May 22, 2013.	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	Chief Clerk of the House