H.R. No. 2598

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Will and Mikell Abney family has been named the
- 2 2013 Midland Family of the Year by the Samaritan Counseling Center
- 3 of West Texas; and
- WHEREAS, The award is given to a Midland family that has a
- 5 demonstrated record of church and community involvement; active in
- 6 the First United Methodist Church of Midland, Mr. Abney has served
- 7 on a number of administrative committees, and Mrs. Abney is a
- 8 dedicated volunteer; she has taught Sunday school, served on a
- 9 children's worship planning team, helped to lead a children's
- 10 summer mission program, and assisted with vacation Bible school; in
- 11 addition, she completed the Pastor's Academy, a nine-month training
- 12 course; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Abney take great pride in their three
- 14 children, Miles, Peyton, and Ben; a fifth-grader, Miles Abney sings
- 15 in the Promiseland children's band, participates in Camp Serve and
- 16 vacation Bible school, and has contributed to Backpacks and
- 17 Blessings, an initiative for local children in need; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through their myriad efforts in behalf of their
- 19 church and the greater community, the members of the Abney family
- 20 have set an outstanding example for their fellow citizens, and they
- 21 have indeed proven themselves worthy of this recognition; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Abney family on their selection

H.R. No. 2598

- 1 as the 2013 Midland Family of the Year by the Samaritan Counseling
- 2 Center of West Texas and extend to Will and Mikell Abney and their
- 3 children sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Abney family as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 2598

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2598 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House