H.R. No. 2602

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Barbara-Jane Paris, who has been selected to serve as 3 president of the National Association of Secondary School 4 Principals; and

5 WHEREAS, Barbara-Jane Paris is the principal of Canyon Vista 6 Middle School in the Round Rock Independent School District; 7 throughout her tenure as principal, she has demonstrated 8 exceptional leadership and the ability to engage with students and 9 faculty alike; and

10 WHEREAS, For many years, Ms. Paris has also played an active 11 role as a member of both the Texas and National Associations of 12 Secondary School Principals, and she has held several high offices 13 with these organizations and provided guidance on a wide variety of 14 subjects; and

15 WHEREAS, She is an acknowledged expert on school safety, 16 cyberbullying, and media relations and has led numerous conferences 17 and professional workshops on these important issues; and

WHEREAS, This accomplished educator was invited to serve on the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy--Panel on Youth Recovery and the White House Committee on Bullying; moreover, she has been invited to serve as a keynote speaker on the topics of cyberbullying and school safety; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator,
Barbara-Jane Paris is respected and admired by her colleagues, and

1

H.R. No. 2602 1 she is truly deserving of recognition for her remarkable 2 achievements; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 4 Legislature hereby commend Barbara-Jane Paris on her commitment to 5 the field of education and congratulate her on her selection as 6 president of the National Association of Secondary School 7 Principals; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Paris as an expression of esteem by the Texas House 10 of Representatives.

## Strama

H.R. No. 2602

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2602

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2602 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House