RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Eight students from The University of Texas at San 2 Antonio have contributed indispensable support to the Texas Legislature as members of the UTSA Legislative Scholars Program, 3 and as the 83rd Legislative Session draws to a close, it is indeed 4 5 fitting to recognize these dedicated interns; and 6 WHEREAS, Since 2004, the endeavor cofounded by Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and The University of Texas at 7 San Antonio, which is also known as the McClendon Legislative 8 Scholars Program, has provided students with the unique opportunity 9 to work full-time at the State Capitol during the legislative 10 11 session; while serving as interns in the offices of members of the 12 Texas House of Representatives, these select undergraduate and graduate students immerse themselves in the legislative process and 13 14 make important connections with prominent policymakers and elected officials; each of the promising students chosen to participate has 15 16 demonstrated a commitment to public service, as well professionalism and independent thinking, and as interns, they 17 perform a number of essential tasks, including research, analysis, 18 writing, and corresponding with constituents; and 19 WHEREAS, Working in the office of Representative Dawnna 20 21 Dukes, Eliana Briceno is majoring in Spanish and sociology at UTSA, 22 where she was a finalist for Student Volunteer of the Year; she has 23 contributed more than 300 hours to the Volunteer Organization 24 Involving Community Education and Services, including coordinating

- 1 spring break trips to benefit Habitat for Humanity; she is the
- 2 recipient of the Outstanding Latina Student Leadership Award, among
- 3 other honors, and after graduating, she plans to pursue a
- 4 certificate in international studies at Johns Hopkins University;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ana Cabrera, who has served in the office of
- 7 Representative Senfronia Thompson, is majoring in honors studies
- 8 and minoring in legal studies and art history and criticism; a
- 9 member of the University Honors Student Association, she has also
- 10 served as a justice of the Student Government Association and as
- 11 secretary of Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society; and
- 12 WHEREAS, An intern in the office of Representative Rob Orr,
- 13 Samantha Link has earned a legal reasoning certificate, as well as a
- 14 scholarship, from the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, and
- 15 she has attended the Summer Law School Preparation Academy at the
- 16 UTSA Institute for Law and Public Affairs; majoring in business
- 17 management, she plans to pursue a law degree and to enlist in the
- 18 U.S. Navy; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Travis Miller has been a welcome addition to the
- 20 office of Representative Jose Menendez; a founding father of the
- 21 UTSA chapter of Alpha Tau Omega, a leadership development
- 22 fraternity, Mr. Miller is also a member of the Pi Sigma Alpha
- 23 National Political Science Honor Society and the National Society
- 24 of Collegiate Scholars; he is studying political science, holds a
- 25 certificate in legal reasoning, and plans to attend law school; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Amarro Nelson, an intern in the office of
- 27 Representative Ruth Jones McClendon, is pursuing his graduate

- 1 degree in sociology, having completed his bachelor's degree at
- 2 George Washington University; as an undergraduate, he was the
- 3 community service chair for Delta Tau Delta Fraternity in
- 4 Washington, D.C., where he coordinated service projects and raised
- 5 more than \$10,000 to benefit local residents; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Serving in the office of Representative Borris
- 7 Miles, Alexandra Rosales is a first-generation college student who
- 8 is majoring in criminal justice; she is a dedicated volunteer for
- 9 Hope Hospice in New Braunfels, Goodwill, and Cole Vocational
- 10 Services in California, where she works with adults with
- 11 developmental disabilities; she plans to attend law school and has
- 12 earned an award for logical reasoning from the UTSA Institute for
- 13 Law and Public Affairs; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Corbin Marak, an intern in the office of
- 15 Representative Lois Kolkhorst, has built a notable resume that
- 16 includes internships with Judge Cliff Brown of Austin and the
- 17 Office of the Attorney General Child Support Division; in addition,
- 18 he has volunteered for former U.S. Congressman Charles Gonzalez of
- 19 Texas and the First Tee of Greater Austin; a member of the National
- 20 Society of Collegiate Scholars, Mr. Marak hopes to one day become a
- 21 judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Valerie Sullivan has served in the office of the
- 23 speaker of the house, Joe Straus; pursuing a master's degree in
- 24 social work, she is a former member of the U.S. Air Force Security
- 25 Police, for which she organized food, clothing, and blood drives,
- 26 and led the rebuilding of an orphanage in Kyrgyzstan; she has
- 27 further distinguished herself through her volunteerism in behalf of

- 1 Big Brothers Big Sisters, Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics,
- 2 and the U.S. Army's Community Service Center; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The highly qualified students who make up the Class
- 4 of 2013 McClendon Scholars have provided a vital service to the
- 5 legislature throughout the session while expanding their knowledge
- 6 of Texas politics and government, and it is a pleasure to celebrate
- 7 these accomplished young people and to honor them for their notable
- 8 public service; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commend Eliana Briceno, Ana Cabrera, Samantha
- 11 Link, Travis Miller, Amarro Nelson, Alexandra Rosales, Corbin
- 12 Marak, and Valerie Sullivan for their myriad contributions to state
- 13 government as participants in the 2013 UTSA Legislative Scholars
- 14 Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 15 success in all their endeavors; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 17 for the McClendon Scholars as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon Strama Kolkhorst Orr Dukes

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2626
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2626 was	adopted by the House on May 25,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

2013, by a non-record vote.