By: McClendon

H.R. No. 2626

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Eight students from The University of Texas at San 2 Antonio have contributed indispensable support to the Texas 3 Legislature as members of the UTSA Legislative Scholars Program, 4 and as the 83rd Legislative Session draws to a close, it is indeed 5 fitting to recognize these dedicated interns; and

6 WHEREAS, Since 2004, the endeavor cofounded by State 7 Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and The University of Texas at San Antonio, which is also known as the McClendon Legislative 8 9 Scholars Program, has provided students with the unique opportunity to work full-time at the State Capitol during the legislative 10 11 session; while serving as interns in the offices of members of the 12 Texas House of Representatives, these select undergraduate and graduate students immerse themselves in the legislative process and 13 14 make important connections with prominent policymakers and elected officials; each of the promising students chosen to participate has 15 16 demonstrated a commitment to public service, as well as professionalism and independent thinking, and as interns, they 17 perform a number of essential tasks, including research, analysis, 18 writing, and corresponding with constituents; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Working in the office of Representative Dawnna 21 Dukes, Eliana Briceno is majoring in Spanish and sociology at UTSA, 22 where she was a finalist for Student Volunteer of the Year; she has 23 contributed more than 300 hours to the Volunteer Organization 24 Involving Community Education and Services, including coordinating

H.R. No. 2626

1 spring break trips to benefit Habitat for Humanity; she is the 2 recipient of the Outstanding Latina Student Leadership Award, among 3 other honors, and after graduating, she plans to pursue a 4 certificate in international studies at Johns Hopkins University; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, Ana Cabrera, who has served in the office of 7 Representative Senfronia Thompson, is majoring in honors studies 8 and minoring in legal studies and art history and criticism; a 9 member of the University Honors Student Association, she has also 10 served as a justice of the Student Government Association and as 11 secretary of Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society; and

WHEREAS, An intern in the office of Representative Rob Orr, Samantha Link has earned a legal reasoning certificate, as well as a scholarship, from the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, and she has attended the Summer Law School Preparation Academy at the UTSA Institute for Law and Public Affairs; majoring in business management, she plans to pursue a law degree and to enlist in the U.S. Navy; and

WHEREAS, Travis Miller has been a welcome addition to the 19 office of Representative Jose Menendez; a founding father of the 20 21 UTSA chapter of Alpha Tau Omega, a leadership development fraternity, Mr. Miller is also a member of the Pi Sigma Alpha 22 23 National Political Science Honor Society and the National Society 24 of Collegiate Scholars; he is studying political science, holds a certificate in legal reasoning, and plans to attend law school; and 25 26 WHEREAS, Amarro Nelson, an intern in the office of Representative Ruth Jones McClendon, is pursuing his graduate 27

H.R. No. 2626

1 degree in sociology, having completed his bachelor's degree at 2 George Washington University; as an undergraduate, he was the 3 community service chair for Delta Tau Delta Fraternity in 4 Washington, D.C., where he coordinated service projects and raised 5 more than \$10,000 to benefit local residents; and

6 WHEREAS, Serving in the office of Representative Borris 7 Miles, Alexandra Rosales is a first-generation college student who 8 is majoring in criminal justice; she is a dedicated volunteer for Hope Hospice in New Braunfels, Goodwill, and Cole Vocational 9 California, where she works with adults with 10 Services in developmental disabilities; she plans to attend law school and has 11 earned an award for logical reasoning from the UTSA Institute for 12 Law and Public Affairs; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Corbin Marak, an intern in the office of 15 Representative Lois Kolkhorst, has built a notable resume that includes internships with Judge Cliff Brown of Austin and the 16 17 Office of the Attorney General Child Support Division; in addition, he has volunteered for former U.S. Congressman Charles Gonzalez of 18 Texas and the First Tee of Greater Austin; a member of the National 19 Society of Collegiate Scholars, Mr. Marak hopes to one day become a 20 judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit; and 21

22 WHEREAS, Valerie Sullivan has served in the office of the 23 speaker of the house, Joe Straus; pursuing a master's degree in 24 social work, she is a former member of the U.S. Air Force Security 25 Police, for which she organized food, clothing, and blood drives, 26 and led the rebuilding of an orphanage in Kyrgyzstan; she has 27 further distinguished herself through her volunteerism in behalf of

H.R. No. 26261 Big Brothers Big Sisters, Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics,2 and the U.S. Army's Community Service Center; and

3 WHEREAS, The highly qualified students who make up the Class 4 of 2013 McClendon Scholars have provided a vital service to the 5 legislature throughout the session while expanding their knowledge 6 of Texas politics and government, and it is a pleasure to celebrate 7 these accomplished young people and to honor them for their notable 8 public service; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 10 Legislature hereby commend Eliana Briceno, Ana Cabrera, Samantha 11 Link, Travis Miller, Amarro Nelson, Alexandra Rosales, Corbin 12 Marak, and Valerie Sullivan for their myriad contributions to state 13 government as participants in the 2013 UTSA Legislative Scholars 14 Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued 15 success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 17 for the McClendon Scholars as an expression of high regard by the 18 Texas House of Representatives.