H.R. No. 2643

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Texas, Inc., one of the

2 foremost employers in San Antonio, is celebrating its 10-year

3 anniversary in October 2013; and

WHEREAS, Since breaking ground in 2003, TMMTX has become the

5 sole U.S. manufacturing plant for the full-size Tundra pickup, with

6 the compact Tacoma pickup joining the assembly line in 2010; the

7 factory's annual vehicle production now totals over 200,000, and in

8 the fall of this year, TMMTX is expected to roll out its one

9 millionth truck; and

10 WHEREAS, More than 6,000 Texans are employed at TMMTX's main

11 plant and 21 on-site suppliers, representing a considerable share

12 of the roughly 18,000 workers employed by Toyota statewide; during

13 the two periods in the past several years when production was

14 suspended, all team members were retained and temporarily assigned

15 to volunteer work in the community; moreover, the company's hiring

16 practices reflect a keen respect for the value of military

17 experience, as veterans are aggressively sought out for its

18 workforce; and

19 WHEREAS, In addition to creating jobs and infusing capital

20 into the area economy, TMMTX honors a commitment to responsible

21 corporate citizenship in many ways; since its opening, it has

22 helped to improve the quality of life of community residents

23 through its support of the United Way of San Antonio and Bexar

24 County, the San Antonio Food Bank, and the San Antonio Area Chapter

25 of the American Red Cross, as well as such worthwhile local causes

H.R. No. 2643

- 1 as the San Antonio Audubon Society, Big Brothers Big Sisters of
- 2 South Texas, SAMMinistries, and El Centro del Barrio; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Investments in education constitute a full 75
- 4 percent of TMMTX's donations to area groups; this year, the company
- 5 allocated \$1.2 million for education initiatives and scholarships
- 6 for local high school students, allowing them to experience summer
- 7 residencies in engineering programs; other endeavors include an
- 8 initiative through which TMMTX representatives visit schools to
- 9 teach topics in automotive technology, efforts to support education
- 10 in high-demand STEM fields, and a scholarship and work-study
- 11 program administered through a partnership with Alamo Colleges; and
- 12 WHEREAS, For the better part of a decade, Toyota Motor
- 13 Manufacturing, Texas, has contributed vitally to the economic
- 14 growth and prosperity of San Antonio, and its demonstrated regard
- 15 for employee welfare and the betterment of the wider community is
- 16 indeed deserving of special commendation; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Texas,
- 19 Inc., and extend to all those associated with the plant sincere best
- 20 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for TMMTX as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Martinez Fischer Farias Cortez Gutierrez McClendon

H.R. No. 2643

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2643
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2643 w	as adopted by the House on May 23,
2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House