RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dallas city manager Mary K. Suhm is retiring in 2013
 from a remarkable career in public service that has spanned three
 and a half decades; and

WHEREAS, Appointed city manager in 2005, Ms. Suhm has worked 4 5 tirelessly to improve quality of life for her fellow citizens while putting municipal finances on a firmer footing and making 6 7 government more responsive; she set a goal for increasing the number of police officers, leading to a dramatic decrease in the 8 9 crime rate, and during her tenure, downtown Dallas has undergone a renaissance; moreover, she helped redefine the city's skyline 10 11 through her role in the construction of the Margaret Hunt Hill 12 Bridge, designed by renowned architect Santiago Calatrava, and in the thoughtful revitalization of West Dallas; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Ms. Suhm has skillfully guided the progress of a number of complex, long-range projects, among them the completion 15 16 of the much anticipated convention center hotel; her accomplishments include the agreement to bring a championship golf 17 course to an impoverished area, the installation of miles of trails 18 and bicycle lanes, and the public-private partnerships resulting in 19 20 Klyde Warren Park and the Perot Museum, world-class facilities that 21 have connected the Arts District and Uptown and have energized the urban character of the city center; known for her collaborative 22 23 style, clear focus, and organizational acumen, she proved her mettle soon after taking office when Hurricane Katrina sent to 24

1

H.R. No. 2754
1 Dallas a stream of evacuees needing food, shelter, and a wide range
2 of support services; and

3 WHEREAS, Having dedicated her career to the city, Ms. Suhm has played a central part in many significant developments over the 4 years, among them the Latino Cultural Center and the Dallas 5 Performing Arts Center; she has been a catalyst 6 in the game-changing Trinity River project for decades, and her continuing 7 8 emphasis on customer service and accountability has been reflected in the introduction of performance measurement, 9 strategic planning, and other business best practices to the municipal 10 system; and 11

WHEREAS, Before becoming city manager, Ms. Suhm served in 12 such key executive positions as interim city manager, first 13 14 assistant city manager, and director of courts; with her selection 15 as the executive assistant director of the Dallas Police Department, she became the first woman to serve as its top civilian 16 17 executive; she holds a bachelor's degree from Lamar University and master's degrees in business and library science from the 18 19 University of North Texas, and she briefly taught school prior to joining the city as a librarian; and 20

21 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan has received myriad accolades, 22 including the Centennial Award from the YMCA of Metropolitan 23 Dallas, the Spirit of the Centennial Award from the Friends of Fair 24 Park, the Kessler Award from the Greater Dallas Planning Council, 25 and the Jubilee History Maker Award from the Dallas Historical 26 Society; in addition, she has been named Woman of the Year and 27 Public Administrator of the Year; and

2

1 WHEREAS, Mary Suhm has earned a national reputation for 2 innovation in public administration, and her visionary leadership 3 and selfless dedication have made Dallas a safer and more vibrant 4 place in which to live and work; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Suhm on her retirement as city 7 manager of Dallas and extend to her sincere best wishes for the 8 future; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Ms. Suhm as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

> Branch Giddings

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2754 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House