By: Johnson H.R. No. 2833

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Rebecca Kuang, a senior at Greenhill School in

2 Addison, has distinguished herself as one of the most skilled high

3 school debaters in the country; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Kuang competes in Lincoln-Douglas debate, an

5 event that traditionally emphasizes ethical values and logic; she

6 has prevailed at numerous invitational tournaments throughout the

7 country, including in New York, Illinois, Georgia, and

8 Massachusetts; and

9 WHEREAS, She received the Dukes and Bailey Award from the

10 National Debate Coaches Association for her regular season

11 successes, and in the postseason, she was crowned state champion at

12 the Texas Forensic Association tournament; she followed up this

13 triumph with wins at the National Debate Coaches Association

14 Championships in Nashville and the Tournament of Champions at the

15 University of Kentucky; at two of the events, she eloquently and

16 persuasively argued for prioritizing rehabilitation over

17 retribution in the criminal justice system; and

18 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has also helped found

19 an organization known as "Debaters Against Sexism," and its goals

20 are supported by the National Debate Coaches Association and the

21 National Forensic League; she will attend the Edmund A. Walsh

22 School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University in the fall; and

23 WHEREAS, With her drive, dedication, and exceptional

24 ability, Rebecca Kuang has joined an elite class of competitors in

H.R. No. 2833

- 1 the world of debate, and she may indeed look with anticipation and
- 2 optimism to the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor Rebecca Kuang on her achievements in
- 6 debate and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be
- 7 it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Ms. Kuang as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.