H.R. No. 2838

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Rolando Sayo Balotro of the College Career and 2 Technology Academy in Pharr received fitting recognition when he 3 was named the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District 4 Secondary Teacher of the Year; and

5 WHEREAS, Encouraged by his mother to pursue his education, 6 Mr. Balotro earned his bachelor's degree in physics for teachers, 7 two master's degrees in the sciences, and a doctorate of science in 8 physical oceanography; he taught at universities across the world 9 before joining the faculty of the CCTA in 2008, where he currently 10 works as a mathematics teacher and serves as chair of the 11 department; and

12 WHEREAS, A gifted and dedicated educator, Dr. Balotro 13 invites his students to develop their critical and analytical 14 thinking skills in pursuit of discovery; he has received two grants from the Tri-City Business/Education Coalition, which he has used 15 16 to create a classroom resource center where students apply what they've learned to practical problems; for his commitment to 17 excellence, Dr. Balotro was named the CCTA Teacher of the Year for 18 2013; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Serving as role models, motivators, listeners, and 21 mentors, the best educators bring to their duties creativity, 22 energy, and resourcefulness; Rolando Sayo Balotro is one such 23 teacher, inspiring in his students a love of learning that will 24 serve them well throughout their lives; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2838

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Rolando Sayo Balotro on his 3 selection as the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD 2013 Secondary Teacher of 4 the Year and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success 5 with his important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Dr. Balotro as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Munoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 2838

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2838 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House