RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jake B. Schrum is retiring as president of 2 Southwestern University on June 30, 2013, concluding a 3 distinguished 13-year tenure in which he helped the school achieve 4 a series of important goals; and

5 WHEREAS, Since beginning his service as the 14th president of Southwestern University on July 1, 2000, Jake Schrum has furthered 6 7 the institution's long-standing commitment to educational excellence while also preparing Southwestern for the future; his 8 9 leadership of the Thinking Ahead campaign, the largest fund-raising project in the history of the university, has generated nearly \$150 10 11 million for initiatives aimed at supporting students and faculty, 12 increasing diversity, and enhancing the campus environment; these funds have financed the construction and renovation of a number of 13 14 campus buildings and also enabled the university to launch its Paideia program, which integrates 15 signature the academic 16 curriculum with community experiences; and

WHEREAS, President Schrum has been 17 instrumental in developing relationships with other funding sources, including the 18 Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and in 2009 he helped Southwestern to 19 become the new home of the National Institute for Technology in 20 21 Liberal Education; moreover, this innovative administrator has championed the goal of environmental sustainability, has overseen 22 23 an increase in the number of students from underrepresented groups, 24 and has worked to enhance campus life by expanding the university's

1

1 athletic offerings; and

WHEREAS, The insight that President Schrum has demonstrated 2 3 in his duties has been informed by his own educational experience; after earning his bachelor's degree in psychology at Southwestern 4 5 in 1968, he went on to attain a master of divinity degree from Yale University in 1973; he began his career as an administrator for two 6 Yale alumni associations and later became a fund-raiser for the 7 8 School of Divinity; he held other prominent administrative posts at Muhlenberg College, Texas Wesleyan University, 9 and Emory 10 University, and in the early 1980s he returned to Southwestern as vice president of university relations; before accepting his 11 12 position as president of his alma mater, Mr. Schrum served as president of Texas Wesleyan University for nine years; and 13

14 WHEREAS, President Schrum has established himself as a 15 national leader in higher education; he has held the office of national board chair for the Council for the Advancement and 16 17 Support of Education, the Associated Colleges of the South, and the Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, and he has been a 18 member of the boards of such organizations as the National 19 Association of Independent Colleges and Universities and the 20 American Council on Education; he presently serves as a trustee of 21 Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, as a member of the steering 22 23 committee for the American College & University Presidents' Climate 24 Commitment, and as a member of the board for the Campus to Community Coalition of Texas; and 25

26 WHEREAS, In 2008, President Schrum was recognized for his 27 outstanding stewardship of Southwestern University with a Chief

2

Executive Leadership Award from the Council for the Advancement and
Support of Education; he has written and edited several books and is
a frequent lecturer and consultant on topics in higher learning;
and

5 WHEREAS, Southwestern University has benefited immeasurably 6 from President Schrum's enterprising vision and unwavering 7 commitment to excellence, and he may indeed take great pride in his 8 myriad accomplishments as he prepares for the next exciting chapter 9 of his life; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Jake B. Schrum on his retirement as 12 president of Southwestern University and extend to him sincere best 13 wishes for the future; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for Mr. Schrum as an expression of high regard by the Texas 16 House of Representatives.

Farney

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2908 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House